Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Rose-breasted Grosbeak, Ron Ridout
Photo © Ron Ridout

Photo: Ron Ridout
Breeding evidence - Rose-breasted Grosbeak
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Rose-breasted Grosbeak
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Rose-breasted Grosbeak
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Rose-breasted Grosbeak
Pheucticus ludovicianus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
10 - 1328 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
19 35 204 167
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1974 - 2012 -2.19 (-6.54 - 2.2)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.957 (-1.63 - -0.286)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.10.21  0.08  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.10.14 0.24  0.08
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.10.03     

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.2  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.1
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.08 0.04

Characteristics and Range The male Rose-breasted Grosbeak is easily recognized by its bold colouring and melodic, warbling song. The more cryptically-plumaged females also sing, and both sexes are known to sing from the nest while incubating. The species breeds in temperate forests from the Atlantic coast westward to the edge of the Great Plains, and northwestward through the southern Boreal Forest to the Rocky Mountain foothills. Northeastern British Columbia and adjacent Yukon and Northwest Territories represent the northwestern-most limits of its range. It winters mainly in Central America and northern South America (Wyatt and Francis 2002).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Rose-breasted Grosbeak is found mainly east of the Rocky Mountains in northeastern British Columbia. There are also numerous records west of the Rockies, through the Northern Rocky Mountain Trench to the Interior Plateau. This is generally similar to the range described when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 2001, but distribution in the northeast seems to have expanded, while the small outlying breeding population in southern British Columbia has since vanished. Campbell et al. (2001) postulated that the increase in reports from the southern parts of British Columbia prior to 2000 may represent an element of the population that migrates along the Pacific Coast, colonising southern British Columbia. That trend seems to have dissipated, and it seems more likely that most grosbeaks found west of the Rocky Mountains during the Atlas surveys have simply followed low-elevation passes through the mountains and found suitable habitat in the British Columbia interior. Whether this pattern continues and leads to an established range expansion remains to be seen.

The Probability of Observation for the Rose-breasted Grosbeak was highest in the Boreal Plains and Taiga Plains ecoprovinces where the vast majority of breeding evidence was found. The highest Pobs values were in the Peace, Fort Nelson and Liard river lowlands, but point counts showed that it is most common in the Boreal Plains Ecoprovince, as noted by Campbell et al. (2001). It is most abundant in low elevation (250-500 m) deciduous and mixed forest habitats.

The species prefers open deciduous growth and was found in young forest, edges, and very old forest with numerous canopy gaps. It tends to avoid coniferous stands and closed-canopy forest with few shrubs in the understorey. This is generally similar to habitats used elsewhere across its breeding range (Wyatt and Francis 2002).

Conservation and Recommendations The Rose-breasted Grosbeak is not a conservation concern in British Columbia or across Canada. Canada-wide long-term Breeding Bird Survey trends indicate a moderate decline (Environment Canada 2011); however, trends in parts of the western Boreal Forest show an increase. Industrial development such as forestry and oil and gas exploration may actually improve conditions for the Rose-breasted Grosbeak considering its preference for young forest and edge habitat. If the species continues to expand into the interior of the province, contact and potential hybridization with the Black-headed Grosbeak is possible, as has happened with several other similar species pairs in post-glacial times (Cannings and Cannings 2015).

Mark Phinney

Recommended citation: Phinney, M. 2015. Rose-breasted Grosbeak in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=RBGR&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Cardinal à poitrine rose, Ron Ridout
Photo © Ron Ridout

Photo: Ron Ridout
Indices de nidification - Cardinal à poitrine rose
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Cardinal à poitrine rose
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Cardinal à poitrine rose
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Cardinal à poitrine rose
Pheucticus ludovicianus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
10 - 1328 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
19 35 204 167
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1974 - 2012 -2.19 (-6.54 - 2.2)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.957 (-1.63 - -0.286)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.10.21  0.08  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.10.14 0.24  0.08
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.10.03     

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.2  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.1
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.08 0.04

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le cardinal à poitrine rose mâle est facile à reconnaître par son plumage coloré et son chant mélodieux et gazouillant. La femelle à plumage plus mystérieux chante aussi et on sait que les deux sexes chantent depuis leur nid lors de l'incubation. L'espèce se reproduit dans les forêts tempérées de la côte Atlantique à l'extrémité des Grandes Plaines et vers le nord-ouest à travers la forêt boréale jusqu'aux pieds des montagnes Rocheuses. Le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique et les régions adjacentes du Yukon et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest représentent l'extrémité nord-ouest de son territoire. Ils hivernent principalement en Amérique Centrale et dans le nord de l'Amérique du Sud (Wyatt et Francis 2002).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Cardinal à poitrine rose se trouve principalement à l'est des Rocheuses dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique. Il y a également de nombreux relevés à l'ouest des Rocheuses, dans tout le sillon des Rocheuses du nord jusqu'au plateau intérieur. Cette aire est généralement similaire à celle décrite dans l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia publié en 2001; toutefois, la distribution dans le nord-est semble s'être élargie, tandis que sa petite population nicheuse périphérique dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique a depuis disparu. Selon Campbell et coll. (2001), la hausse des relevés dans les parties sud de la Colombie-Britannique avant l'an 2000 pourrait concerner une partie de la population migrant le long de la côte pacifique, colonisant ainsi le sud de la Colombie-Britannique. Cette tendance semble s'être dissipée et il semblerait plus probable que la majeure partie des cardinaux observés à l'ouest des Rocheuses durant la période des relevés de l'Atlas ont simplement suivi les cols de faible altitude à travers les montagnes et y ont trouvé un habitat convenable dans l'intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique. Reste à savoir si cette tendance se poursuivra et donnera lieu à une expansion de l'aire établie.

La probabilité d'observation du Cardinal à poitrine était la plus forte dans les écoprovinces Plaines boréales et Plaines de la Taïga où la majorité des preuves de la reproduction ont été obtenues. Les valeurs de Pobs les plus élevées ont été notées dans les basses terres des rivières de la Paix, Fort Nelson et Liard, mais les dénombrements par point ont indiqué que l'espèce était la plus commune dans l'écoprovince Plaines boréales, comme l'avaient relevé Campbell et coll. (2001). Elle est plus abondante dans des habitats de forêts de feuillus et mixtes de basse altitude (de 250 à 500 m).

L'espèce prefère les pousses de feuillus ouvertes et a été observée dans de jeunes forêts, des lisières et dans des forêts très anciennes comportant de nombreuses trouées dans la canopée. Elle a tendance à éviter les peuplements de conifères et les forêts à canopée dense comportant peu d'arbustes dans le sous-étage. Ces habitats sont généralement similaires à ceux utilisés à d'autres endroits de son aire de reproduction (Wyatt et Francis 2002).

Conservation et recommandations Le cardinal à poitrine rose n'est pas une préoccupation de conservation en Colombie-Britannqie ou au Canada. Les tendances à long terme du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs pour l'ensemble du Canada indiquent un déclin moyen (Environnement Canada 2011); toutefois les tendances de certaines parties de l'ouest de la forêt boréale sont à la hausse. Les développements industriels comme l'exploitation forestière et les explorations pétrolières et gazières pourraient en fait améliorer les conditions pour le cardinal à poitrine rose en prenant compte de sa preférence pour les forêts jeunes et les habitats de lisière. Si l'espèce continue d'agrandir son aire de répartition vers l'intérieur de la province, le contact et l'hybridation avec le cardinal à tête noire seraient possibles, situation qui s'est déjà produite pour plusieurs autres paires d'espèces semblables dans la période postglaciaire (Cannings et Cannings 2015).

Mark Phinney

Citation recommandée: Phinney, M. 2015. Cardinal à poitrine rose dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=RBGR&lang=fr [27 févr. 2021]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley