Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Rock Wren, Pam Laing
Photo © Pam Laing

Photo: Pam Laing
Breeding evidence - Rock Wren
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Rock Wren
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Rock Wren
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Rock Wren
Salpinctes obsoletus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
304 - 1765 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
11 14 54 32
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.454 (-4.97 - 3.51)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 -0.638 (-5.31 - 3.37)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.050.07  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
      0.07
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.080.07 0.05   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.03 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.06
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.05 0.06 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.08  0.06

Characteristics and Range To see this perky member of British Columbia's avifauna, the birder has to either encounter a vagrant Rock Wren (the species shows a propensity for wandering) or, much more likely, travel to one of its breeding locales--sunny rock slides, mostly in the province's southern interior. It is a resident and short-distance migrant restricted to more arid parts of western North and Central America, reaching the northern extent of its breeding range in British Columbia (Lowther et al. 2000).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat This wren breeds in highly localized, small populations. The suggestion that the Rock Wren may be extending its range northwards in British Columbia (Campbell et al. 1997) is not entirely borne out by the Atlas findings, which mostly mirror the range known two decades ago. The Atlas shows that the centre of provincial distribution remains in the Southern Interior Ecoprovince, and continued occupation of outlying sites, including probable breeding on Mount Tuam on Salt Spring Island and Perkins Peak in the Chilcotin. Two more northerly locations recorded during the Atlas fit the pattern of summer observations north to Tumbler Ridge noted in Campbell et al. (1997): a bird on territory at the east end of Nechako Reservoir and a singing male by Williston Lake.

The Rock Wren naturally occurs at low densities; consequently its Probability of Observation is low for large areas potentially supporting suitable habitat. The highest Pobs values are from the Okanagan and Similkameen valleys where the distribution is most clustered, confirming that the Southern Interior Ecoprovince still supports the core of the provincial population (Campbell et al. 1997). Rock Wrens occur across a broad altitudinal range; the small sample of point count records indicates a slightly higher abundance between 250 and 750 m, but comparison of abundance between ecoprovinces is not possible.

The Rock Wren is found most often on exposed rock outcrops, cliffs and talus slopes, as long as the surface provides the wren with crevices, cracks, and holes in which it forages and nests. It is also found in man-made environments with similar features, such as steep rocky roadsides, tunnels, quarries and boulder piles. It also occurs among boulders in the alpine, breeding from near sea level to 2,100 m (Campbell et al. 1997).

Conservation and Recommendations This wren is not considered to be at risk provincially or nationally, with little or no threat to its localized habitat. However, it is not very well studied, and because of its localized habitat preference, it is not well captured by long-term monitoring programs.

Chris R. Siddle

Recommended citation: Siddle, C.R. 2015. Rock Wren in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=ROWR&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Troglodyte des rochers, Pam Laing
Photo © Pam Laing

Photo: Pam Laing
Indices de nidification - Troglodyte des rochers
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Troglodyte des rochers
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Troglodyte des rochers
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Troglodyte des rochers
Salpinctes obsoletus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
304 - 1765 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
11 14 54 32
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.454 (-4.97 - 3.51)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 -0.638 (-5.31 - 3.37)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.050.07  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
      0.07
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.080.07 0.05   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.03 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
   0.06
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.05 0.06 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.08  0.06

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Pour voir ce membre guilleret de la faune aviaire de la Colombie-Britannique, un ornithologue amateur doit soit rencontrer un Troglodyte des rochers errant (l'espèce manifeste un penchant pour l'errance) ou, plus probablement, se rendre à un de ses lieux de nidification - les éboulements rochers ensoleillés, principalement dans la partie sud de l'intérieur de la province. C'est un sédentaire qui fait de courtes migrations et qui est confiné aux parties les plus arides de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord et centrale, et qui atteint l'extrémité nord de son aire de nidification en Colombie-Britannique (Lowther et coll. 2000).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Ce troglodyte niche en petites populations fortement localisées. L'hypothèse selon laquelle le Troglodyte des roches peut étendre son aire de répartition vers le nord en Colombie-Britannique (Campbell et coll. 1997) n'est pas entièrement corroborée par les conclusions de l'Atlas, qui reprennent principalement l'aire de répartition connue il ya deux décennies. L'Atlas a montré que le centre de sa distribution provinciale demeure l'écoprovince Intérieur sud et qu'il continue d'occuper des sites périphériques, y compris des lieux de nidification probables sur le mont Tuam dans le sud-est de l'île Salt Spring et sur le pic Perkins dans le Chilcotin. Deux emplacements plus septentrionaux relevés pendant la période de relevé de l'Atlas concordent avec le schéma des observations estivales effectuées au nord jusqu'à Tumbler Ridge, consignées dans The Birds of British Columbia : un oiseau sur un territoire à l'extrémité est du réservoir Nechako et un mâle chantant près du lac Williston.

Le Troglodyte des rochers est présent naturellement à de faibles densités; par conséquent, la probabilité d'observation était faible pour de grandes régions qui abritent éventuellement un habitat qui lui convient. On trouve les valeurs de Pobs les plus élevées dans les vallées de l'Okanagan et de la Similkameen, où la distribution était la plus groupée, ce qui confirme que l'écoprovince Intérieur sud abrite toujours le gros de la population provinciale (Campbell et coll. 1997). Les troglodytes des rochers vivent dans une tranche d'altitude large; le faible échantillon de relevés de dénombrement par point a indiqué que l'abondance était légèrement plus élevée entre 250 et 750 mètres, mais il n'était pas possible de comparer l'abondance entre écoprovinces.

On trouve le Troglodyte des rochers le plus souvent sur des affleurements rocheux, des falaises et la pente de talus, pour autant que la surface lui fournisse des crevasses, des failles et des trous dans lesquels il cherche sa nourriture et niche. On le trouve également dans des environnements anthropiques présentant des caractéristiques semblables, notamment des bords de route rocheux et pentus, des tunnels, des carrières et des amoncellements de blocs. Il vit également parmi les rochers dans la zone alpine, nichant presque depuis le niveau de la mer jusqu'à 2 100 mètres (Campbell et coll. 1997).

Conservation et recommandations Ce troglodyte n'est pas considéré comme étant en péril à l'échelon provincial et national, car son habitat localisé est peu ou pas menacé. Cependant, il n'a pas été très bien étudié et en raison de sa préférence pour un habitat localisé, il n'est pas bien pris en compte par les programmes de surveillance à long terme.

Chris R. Siddle

Citation recommandée: Siddle, C.R. 2015. Troglodyte des rochers dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=ROWR&lang=fr [03 juin 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley