Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Semipalmated Plover, Catherine Jardine
Photo © Catherine Jardine

Photo: Catherine Jardine
Breeding evidence - Semipalmated Plover
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Semipalmated Plover
Charadrius semipalmatus

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
8 - 1794 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
22 12 11 9
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
BBS trends are not available for this species

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.08     0.31
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.07      
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
      0.23

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.07   
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.31  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
   0.1
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.07  

Characteristics and Range This attractive little plover is a long-distant migrant, travelling thousands of kilometres from its southern wintering grounds to breed in arctic and boreal regions from northwest Alaska to Newfoundland (Nol and Blanken 2014). The very similar Common Ringed Plover (C. hiaticula) is a sister species occupying a similar niche in Eurasia. Semipalmated Plovers disperse widely to winter on both the Atlantic and Pacific coasts, mainly from California and Virginia south along much of the Central and South American coast, and also on offshore islands such as the Bahamas, West Indies and Galapagos (Nol and Blanken 2014).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Evidence of breeding is restricted to the Coast and Mountains, Central Interior and Northern Boreal Mountains ecoprovinces, with one record of possible breeding in the Sub-boreal Interior Ecoprovince. The Atlas data closely match the breeding records in The Birds of British Columbia published in 1990, specifically with confirmed breeding in the mountains of northwestern British Columbia, on the Chilcotin Plateau, and on Haida Gwaii (centred on the same locations identified in The Birds of British Columbia: Sandspit, mouth of Tlell River and near Massett). The total population breeding on Haida Gwaii is estimated to be 100 pairs (Nol and Blanken 2014). Irregular breeding at Iona Island in the Fraser River delta reported up to 1990 (Campbell et al. 1990, Campbell 2015) was not confirmed in 2008-2012. Atlas data were insufficient to analyse the Probability of Observation. In British Columbia, this species is much less common as a breeder than as a migrant, both on the coast and in the interior (Campbell et al. 1990, Campbell 2004).

Nesting in British Columbia occurs in two distinct landscapes: close to sea level on sand dunes or gravel and often among drift logs, or at higher elevations (above 500 m) close to water in gravelly substrates (Campbell et al. 1990, Campbell 2004). Nests are simple scrapes sometimes lined with grasses, seaweeds, shells or stones and are often placed near larger rocks, logs or other objects (Campbell et al. 1990, Nol and Blanken 2014).

Conservation and Recommendations The species is not considered to be at risk, but breeding sites along ocean shores might be subjected to disturbance and nest destruction from humans, dogs and off-road vehicles. Based on surveys at major wintering grounds the continental population is around 200,000 birds; numbers might have increased slightly from 1974 through 2009 but are now regarded as stable (Andres et al. 2012, Nol and Blanken 2014). Population limitation is poorly understood, but appears to be due to winter mortality and perhaps restricted breeding opportunities in some areas (Nol and Blanken 2014). Breeders tend to have high fidelity to their nesting sites (Nol and Blanken 2014); continued monitoring at the known breeding sites should therefore provide good information on population trends in the province.

Alan E. Burger

Recommended citation: Burger, A. E. 2015. Semipalmated Plover in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SEPL&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Pluvier semipalmé, Catherine Jardine
Photo © Catherine Jardine

Photo: Catherine Jardine
Indices de nidification - Pluvier semipalmé
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Pluvier semipalmé
Charadrius semipalmatus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
8 - 1794 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
22 12 11 9
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Les tendances BBS ne sont pas disponibles pour cette espèce

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.08     0.31
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.07      
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
      0.23

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.07   
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.31  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
   0.1
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.07  

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Ce petit pluvier attrayant est un migrateur de longues distances, traversant des milliers de kilomètres de ses aires d'hivernage du sud afin de se reproduire dans les régions arctiques et boréales du nord-ouest de l'Alaska à Terre-Neuve (Nol et Blanken 2014). Le très similaire pluvier grand-gravelot (C. hiaticula) est une espèce soeur occupant une niche en Eurasie. Les pluviers semipalmés se dispersent de façon répandue afin d'hiverner sur les côtes de l'Atlantique et du Pacifique, principalement de la Californie et de la Virginie vers le sud le long de la majorité de la côte de l'Amérique du Sud et centrale et aussi sur les îles au large, comme les Bahamas, les Antilles et les îles Galapagos (Nol et Blanken 2014).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Les preuves de sa reproduction se limitent aux écoprovinces Côtes et montagnes, Intérieur centre et Montagnes boréales du nord, et un relevé de reproduction possible a été effectué dans l'écoprovince Intérieur subboréal. Les données de l'Atlas correspondent de près aux relevés de reproduction présentés dans l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia publié en 1990, en particulier en ce qui a trait à la reproduction confirmée dans les montagnes du nord-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique, sur le plateau Chilcotin et dans l'archipel Haida Gwaii (concentrée dans les mêmes endroits que ceux mentionnés dans The Birds of British Columbia : Sandspit, l'embouchure de la rivière Tlell River et près de Massett). La population totale nichant dans l'archipel Haida Gwaii est estimée à 100 couples (Nol et Blanken 2014). Une reproduction irrégulière sur l'île Iona dans le delta du fleuve Fraser enregistrée jusqu'en 1990 (Campbell et coll. 1990, Campbell 2015) n'a pas été confirmée pour la période de 2008 à 2012. Les données de l'Atlas n'étaient pas assez nombreuses pour pouvoir analyser la probabilité d'observation. En Colombie-Britannique, cette espèce est beaucoup moins commune en tant qu'oiseau nicheur qu'en tant qu'oiseau migrateur, sur la côte comme dans l'intérieur (Campbell et coll. 1990, Campbell 2004).

La nidification en Colombie-Britannique a lieu dans deux paysages distincts : près du niveau de la mer, sur des dunes de sable ou des graviers et souvent dans du bois en dérive, ou à de plus hautes altitudes (au-delà de 500 m) à proximité de l'eau dans des substrats graveleux (Campbell et coll. 1990, Campbell 2004). Les nids sont une simple coupe parfois garnie d'herbes, d'algues, de coquillages ou de roches et sont souvent placés près de grosses pierres, de bûches ou d'autres objets (Campbell et coll. 1990, Nol et Blanken 2014).

Conservation et recommandations L'espèce n'est pas considérée comme étant en péril, mais les aires de reproduction le long des côtes océaniques pourraient faire l'objet de perturbations et la destruction des nids par les humains, les chiens et les véhicules hors route. D'après des études à des aires d'hivernage principales, la population continentale est d'environ 200 000 oiseaux; les nombres peuvent avoir un peu augmenté entre 1974 et 2009, mais sont maintenant considérés comme stables (Andres et coll. 2012, Nol et Blanken 2014). Les facteurs limitants des populations ne sont pas bien compris, mais semblent être causés par les mortalités d'hiver et peut-être aussi les chances de reproduction limitées dans certaines régions (Nol et Blanken 2014). Les reproducteurs ont tendance à être très fidèles à leurs sites de reproduction (Nol et Blanken 2014) : la surveillance continue aux sites de reproduction connus devrait donc fournir de bons renseignements sur les tendances de population de la province.

Alan E. Burger

Citation recommandée: Burger, A. E. 2015. Pluvier semipalmé dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=SEPL&lang=fr [27 févr. 2021]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley