Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Vesper Sparrow, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Breeding evidence - Vesper Sparrow
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Vesper Sparrow
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Vesper Sparrow
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Vesper Sparrow
Pooecetes gramineus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
17 - 2000 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red (affinis subspecies)
COSEWIC: Endangered (affinis)
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
108 120 292 271
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.91 (-3.98 - -0.123)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.823 (-1.6 - -0.26)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.14 0.550.37 0.4
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
   0.140.4 0.16
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.260.41 0.56   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.140.710.4
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
  0.240.06
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.41 0.1 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.61 0.090.13

Characteristics and Range This large, streaky sparrow with the often hard-to-see field marks (rufous shoulder and white outer tail feathers) is named for its tendency to deliver its musical song long into the evening twilight. Its breeding range extends from coast to coast across the continent and from the southern fringes of the Boreal Forest to central North America. It winters in the Coastal Plains and drier biomes of the southern United States south through Mexico (Jones and Cornely 2002). Two of four subspecies occur in British Columbia: P. g. confinis is widespread and P. g. affinis has a highly restricted historical range within the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince (Environment Canada 2014).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Atlas shows a broadly similar distribution pattern to The Birds of British Columbia, with records concentrated in the drier central-southern interior, Southern Rocky Mountain Trench, and Peace River lowlands. The Atlas does not show the high densities of breeding records recorded by Campbell et al.†(2001) along the lower Columbia and Kootenay rivers, suggesting local declines. P. g. affinis has declined from its formerly limited range in the Fraser Lowland Ecosection and is now only known from Nanaimo Airport (Environment Canada 2014).

Probability of Observation values confirmed by point count data are in agreement with Campbell et al. (2001), indicating that the centre of highest abundance spans the Southern Interior and Central Interior ecoprovinces. Vesper Sparrow is most likely to be found in the major valleys (e.g. Thompson, Okanagan) of the Thompson Plateau, and on the southern Chilcotin and western Cariboo plateaus. This bird is less common in the southern Rocky Mountain Trench and the Peace River lowlands. Within these areas, Vesper Sparrow is most abundant between 500 and 750 m, an elevation range that includes much of the Bunchgrass, Ponderosa Pine and Interior Douglas-fir biogeoclimatic zones. Slightly lower abundance at 750-1,250 m likely represents the higher plateaus of the Central Interior Ecoprovince.

Vesper Sparrow nests on the ground in arid grasslands, rangelands, and sagebrush steppes with a dense groundcover of grasses or forbs. Shrubs, fence posts and, when present, scattered trees such as Trembling Aspen (Populus tremuloides), Ponderosa Pine (Pinus ponderosa) and Douglas-fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii), are used as song perches. Local habitat also includes natural openings and clear cuts in dry forest, dry grassy agricultural fields, and the weedy edges of field crops, overgrazed meadows, and burnt areas with regenerating herbaceous ground cover.

Conservation and Recommendations Breeding Bird Surveys suggest that the Vesper Sparrow population is undergoing a slight decline. This may stem from loss of habitat due to conversion of natural grasslands to cropland, urban, and industrial areas (Knight et al. 2014). On the other hand, the extent of potentially suitable habitat has been increased by the conversion of forest to farmland that includes grassy fields. In such areas, burning and mowing should be avoided during the breeding season. Specific conservation recommendations for the P. g. affinis subspecies are detailed in the Recovery Strategy (Environment Canada 2014).

J. M. Ryder

Recommended citation: Ryder, J.M. 2015. Vesper Sparrow in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=VESP&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Bruant vespéral, Alan Burger
Photo © Alan Burger

Photo: Alan Burger
Indices de nidification - Bruant vespéral
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Bruant vespéral
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Bruant vespéral
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Bruant vespéral
Pooecetes gramineus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
17 - 2000 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red (affinis subspecies)
COSEWIC: Endangered (affinis)
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
108 120 292 271
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.91 (-3.98 - -0.123)Medium
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.823 (-1.6 - -0.26)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.14 0.550.37 0.4
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
   0.140.4 0.16
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.260.41 0.56   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.140.710.4
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
  0.240.06
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.41 0.1 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.61 0.090.13

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Ce grand bruant rayé, dont les marques sont souvent difficiles à voir (les épaules tachées de roux et les rectrices blanches), est nommé ainsi pour sa tendance à offrir un long chant mélodieux au crépuscule. Son aire de reproduction s'étend sur tout le continent, d'un océan à l'autre, et de la bordure de la forêt boréale jusqu'au centre de l'Amérique du Nord. Le Bruant vespéral hiverne dans les plaines côtières et les biomes plus arides du sud des États-Unis jusqu'au Mexique (Jones et Cornely 2002). Deux des quatre sous-espèces sont présentes en Colombie-Britannique : P. g. confinis est répandu, et P. g. affinis occupe une aire de répartition historique très limitée dans l'écoprovince de la dépression de Géorgie (Environnement Canada 2014).

Répartition, abondance et habitat L'Atlas montre un schéma de distribution qui ressemble généralement à celui de l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia, les observations se concentrant dans les parties plus sèches du Centre intérieur et du Sud intérieur, dans le sillon des Rocheuses du Sud et dans les basses-terres de Peace River. L'Atlas ne montre pas les densités élevées de reproduction enregistrées par Campbell et coll. (2001) le long des rivières Kootenay et Columbia inférieure, ce qui laisse entrevoir des déclins locaux. P. g. affinis a subi une baisse par rapport à son ancienne aire limitée dans l'écosection des basses terres du Fraser, et n'est observé maintenant qu'à partir de l'aéroport de Nanaimo (Environnement Canada 2014).

Les valeurs de probabilité d'observation de l'Atlas, confirmées par des dénombrements ponctuels, concordent avec celles de Campbell et coll. (2001), indiquant que le centre de l'abondance provinciale la plus élevée couvre les écoprovinces du Sud intérieur et du Centre intérieur. Le Bruant vespéral peut être observé le plus souvent dans les grandes vallées du plateau Thompson (p. Ex. Thompson, Okanagan), et sur les plateaux du sud du district Chilcotin et de l'ouest du district Cariboo. Cet oiseau est moins répandu dans le sillon des Rocheuses du Sud et dans les basses terres de Peace River. À l'intérieur de ces régions, le Bruant vespéral est le plus abondant entre les altitudes de 500 et 750 m, soit la zone qui inclut la plus grande partie des zones biogéoclimatiques des graminées cespiteuses, des pins ponderosa et des douglas. L'abondance légèrement inférieure aux altitudes de 750 à 1250 m correspond vraisemblablement aux plateaux plus élevés de l'écoprovince du Centre intérieur.

Le Bruant vespéral niche sur le sol dans les régions herbagères arides, les parcours naturels et les steppes d'armoise densément recouvertes de graminées ou de plantes herbacées non graminoïdes. Il utilise comme perchoir pour chanter des arbustes, des poteaux de clôture et, lorsqu'il y en a, des arbres dispersés, dont le peuplier faux-tremble (Populus tremuloides), le pin ponderosa (Pinus ponderosa) et le douglas (Pseudotsuga menziesii). L'habitat local comprend également les ouvertures naturelles et les coupes à blanc dans les forêts sèches, les champs agricoles à herbes sèches et les bords envahis de mauvaises herbes des champs cultivés, des pâturages surexploités et des zones brûlées recouvertes d'un tapis herbacé en régénération.

Conservation et recommandations On donne à penser, dans le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs, que la population du Bruant vespéral connaît un léger déclin. Celui-ci peut être attribuable à la perte de l'habitat découlant de la conversion des pâturages naturels en terre cultivée, ainsi qu'en zones urbaines et industrielles (Knight et coll. 2014). Par contre, l'étendue de l'habitat potentiellement convenable s'est accrue grâce à la conversion de forêts en terres agricoles incluant des champs d'herbe. On recommande ainsi d'éviter les activités de brûlage et de tonte à ces endroits pendant la saison de reproduction. Les recommandations particulières en matière de conservation des P. g. affinis sous-espèces sont présentées de manière détaillée dans la stratégie de rétablissement (Environnement Canada 2014).

J. M. Ryder

Citation recommandée: Ryder, J.M. 2015. Bruant vespéral dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=VESP&lang=fr [26 janv. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley