Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Virginia Rail, Len Jellicoe
Photo © Len Jellicoe

Photo: Len Jellicoe
Breeding evidence - Virginia Rail
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Virginia Rail
Probability of observation

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Virginia Rail
Rallus limicola

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
11 - 1319 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
38 32 109 5
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1970 - 2012 1.89 (-1.33 - 4.82)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
    0.13 0.04
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
    0.07  
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
 0.13    0.02

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.07
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.02  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.13 

Characteristics and Range Patience or luck is required to see the secretive Virginia Rail, a bird of thick marshes that is far more often heard giving its nasal territorial calls and grunting duets than it is seen. A traditional birders' technique for quickly assessing the species' presence is to give a single loud hand clap at the edge of suitable habitat; if a bird is present, it will often respond by calling. It is well adapted to manoeuvring through dense tall stems in having a laterally compressed body, flexible vertebrae, and special feathers on its forehead that do not wear down from constant abrasion (Conway 1995). A medium-distance migrant, the Virginia Rail breeds in wetlands across North America from the southern boreal in the east through the Great Lakes and Prairies to the major drainage basins of the west. It winters along Pacific, Atlantic and Gulf coasts and across northern Mexico, and there are resident populations in parts of South America.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat In British Columbia, the Virginia Rail is quite widespread in wetlands across the central-southern interior and the southwest of the province, especially in the Georgia Depression, the Okanagan and Nicola valleys, and interior plateaus. The Atlas mapped a slightly wider provincial distribution than was known when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, including more records on the western Chilcotin and Interior Plateaus, in the Southern Rocky Mountain Trench and the Peace River lowlands. This may be due to wider survey coverage, but each of these regions has traditionally been well covered by birders, and Campbell et al. (1990) considered it a very rare summer visitor to the west Kootenay and Chilcotin-Cariboo region, so a genuine range expansion may be taking place.

It occurs in low numbers, reflected in the low Probability of Observation values even in the areas where it is most reliably found: the Chilcotin Plateau and valley floor wetlands of the Fraser, Thompson, Okanagan and Lillooet rivers. Too few data were collected to draw conclusions about abundance, because the Atlas randomised point counts did not capture a sufficient proportion of the localised wetland habitats of this difficult-to-detect bird.

Favoured breeding habitat is freshwater marshes with tall emergent vegetation, especially Cattail (Typha latifolia), and bulrush (Scirpus), reed (Phragmites) or sedge (Cyperaceae) species. Flooded fields and brackish marshes will also be used (Campbell et al. 1990).

Conservation and Recommendations The Atlas results hint at an expanding Virginia Rail range in British Columbia; continued data collection through programs such as eBird and future atlases will help clarify the situation. It is potentially vulnerable to drought periods and projected long-term drying through climate change (e.g., Hamann and Wang 2006).

Peter J. A. Davidson

Recommended citation: Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Virginia Rail in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=VIRA&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Râle de Virginie, Len Jellicoe
Photo © Len Jellicoe

Photo: Len Jellicoe
Indices de nidification - Râle de Virginie
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Râle de Virginie
Probabilité d'observation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Râle de Virginie
Rallus limicola

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
11 - 1319 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
38 32 109 5
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1970 - 2012 1.89 (-1.33 - 4.82)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
    0.13 0.04
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
    0.07  
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
 0.13    0.02

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.07
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.02  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.13 

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Beaucoup de patience ou de chance est nécessaire afin d?apercevoir le discret râle de Virginie, un oiseau des marais denses qui est beaucoup plus souvent entendu, du fait de ses cris territoriaux nasillards et de ses duos de grognements que vu. Une technique traditionnelle d'observateur d'oiseau afin de déterminer la présence de l'espèce est de frapper un coup de main fort à l'extrémité d'un habitat convenable : si un oiseau est présent, il répondra souvent par son cri. Il est bien adapté à manoeuvrer dans des tiges denses et élevées en raison de son corps compressé sur les côtés, de ses vertébrées flexibles et des plumes spéciales sur son front qui ne souffrent pas d'usure par l'abrasion constante (Conway 1995). Un migrateur de distances moyennes, le râle de Virginie se reproduit dans les terres humides de l'ensemble de l'Amérique du Nord de la forêt boréale sud dans l'est aux Grands Lacs et aux Prairies vers les grands bassins hydrographiques de l'ouest. Il hiverne le long des côtes du Pacifique, de l'Atlantique et du Golfe du Mexique et dans l'ensemble du nord du Mexique et il existe aussi des populations de résidents permanents dans certaines parties de l'Amérique du Sud.

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, le Râle de Virginie est assez répandu dans les zones humides de l'intérieur centre-sud et dans le sud-ouest de la province, en particulier dans la Dépression de Georgia, les vallées de l'Okanagan et Nicola et les plateaux intérieurs. L'Atlas a cartographié une distribution provinciale légèrement plus large que celle connue lorsque The Birds of British Columbia a été publié en 1990. Cette distribution inclut notamment plus de relevés sur le plateau Chilcotin ouest et les plateaux intérieurs, dans le sillon des Rocheuses du sud et dans les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix. Cela est sans doute dû à la plus grande couverture des relevés; toutefois, chacune de ces régions a traditionnellement été bien couverte par les observateurs d'oiseaux, et selon Campbell et coll. (1990), cet oiseau était un visiteur d'été très rare dans la région ouest de Kootenay et de Chilcotin-Cariboo, par conséquent, une expansion réelle de son aire pourrait avoir lieu.

L'oiseau est présent en petit nombre, ce qui se reflète dans les valeurs peu élevées de la probabilité d'observation, même dans les régions où il est le plus susceptible d'être observé : le plateau Chilcotin et les zones humides des fonds de vallée du Fraser, de la Thompson, de l'Okanagan et de la Lillooet. Trop peu de données ont été recueillies pour tirer des conclusions au sujet de son abondance, puisque les dénombrements par point aléatoires de l'Atlas n'ont pas permis d'obtenir une proportion suffisante des habitats de zones humides localisés de cet oiseau difficile à détecter.

Les habitats de reproduction qu'il prefère comprennent des marais d'eau douce comportant une haute végétation émergente, en particulier des massettes (Typha latifolia), des scirpes (Scirpus), des roseaux (Phragmites) ou du carex (Cyperaceae). Il utilisera également des champs inondés et des marais d'eau saumâtre (Campbell et coll. 1990).

Conservation et recommandations Les données de l'Atlas soupçonnent un agrandissement du territoire du râle de Virginie en Colombie-Britannique. La poursuite de la collecte de données par l'entremise de programmes comme eBird et les programmes futurs de l'Atlas aideront à clarifier la situation. Elle est potentiellement vulnérable aux épisodes de sécheresse et à l'assèchement prévu à long terme en raison des changements climatiques (p. ex., Hamann et Wang 2006).

Peter J. A. Davidson

Citation recommandée: Davidson, P.J.A. 2015. Râle de Virginie dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=VIRA&lang=fr [22 oct. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley