Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
White-winged Crossbill, Ron Ridout
Photo © Ron Ridout

Photo: Ron Ridout
Breeding evidence - White-winged Crossbill
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - White-winged Crossbill
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - White-winged Crossbill
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

White-winged Crossbill
Loxia leucoptera
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
193 - 2269 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
26 53 479 280
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.975 (-12.4 - 13.9)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 3.35 (-2.54 - 7.64)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.390.16 0.110.12 0.55
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.390.25 0.1  0.12
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.130.1 0.12  0.55

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.110.18  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 2.00.120.09
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.13 0.2 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.440.130.15

Characteristics and Range Crossed mandibles and white wing bars distinguish this species from all other North American birds. The White-winged Crossbill has a circumpolar breeding distribution in northern and montane coniferous forests; it occurs across northern North America from the Pacific to Atlantic coasts, extending south into the central Rocky Mountains (Benkman 2012). It sporadically makes nomadic and irruptive movements linked to food availability and can be found south of the normal breeding range. Like other crossbills, this species is specialized for foraging on seeds in conifer cones, using its crossed mandibles to wedge open cone scales and lift the seeds free with its tongue.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The White-winged Crossbill breeds throughout much of interior British Columbia, especially in the northern half of the province. Campbell et al. (2001) noted that the true breeding distribution is somewhat of an enigma but that it probably breeds where it regularly occurs, and may occasionally nest on the coast. The Atlas greatly increased the confirmed and probable breeding range in the northern half of the province, likely due to increased effort. Atlas data also confirmed breeding on Vancouver Island at high elevation, and recorded other coastal observations only in 2008, suggesting that some local and ephemeral nesting does occur on the southern British Columbia coast.

Highest Probability of Observation is in the Fort Nelson River lowlands of the Taiga Plains, with moderate-high PObs values in the Northern Boreal Mountains and the Sub-Boreal Interior ecoprovinces. These areas also support the highest abundance, especially at elevations below 750 m, in the spruce-dominated biogeoclimatic zones. This result contrasts dramatically with The Birds of British Columbia, which considered the highest abundance to be in the Southern Interior Mountains Ecoprovince, and is likely due to increased systematic surveying by the Atlas in the northern half of British Columbia, and irruptive movements skewing the picture. Centres of abundance for Red and White-winged Crossbills were well segregated during the Atlas, with the Red Crossbill most common in coastal and central-southern regions of the province. The White-winged Crossbill has a smaller bill than that of the Red Crossbill, adapted for feeding on different conifer seeds, which may help explain this difference.

The critical factor influencing breeding in any given year is conifer seed availability, not the detailed characteristics of the habitat. Breeding can occur throughout most of the year with adequate food availability, so the Atlas survey peak in June may have been mismatched to peak White-winged Crossbill song periods. Confirmed breeding only involved the observation of fledged young, which can travel with larger flocks away from the immediate nesting site. Most breeding is below approximately 1,000 m in northern British Columbia, and above 1,000 m in the southern interior of the province, matching the distribution of most spruce (Picea) species.

Conservation and Recommendations Habitat area and quality may decline substantially for White-winged Crossbills if logging rotations are shortened, because younger conifers produce fewer cones (Benkman 2012). Although the impact on populations of White-winged Crossbills is unknown, collisions with moving trucks and automobiles occur during winter because they are attracted to roads by exposed sand and salt.

Art Martell

Recommended citation: Martell, A. 2015. White-winged Crossbill in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WWCR&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Bec-croisé bifascié, Ron Ridout
Photo © Ron Ridout

Photo: Ron Ridout
Indices de nidification - Bec-croisé bifascié
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Bec-croisé bifascié
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Bec-croisé bifascié
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Bec-croisé bifascié
Loxia leucoptera

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
193 - 2269 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
26 53 479 280
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 0.975 (-12.4 - 13.9)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 3.35 (-2.54 - 7.64)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.390.16 0.110.12 0.55
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.390.25 0.1  0.12
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.130.1 0.12  0.55

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.110.18  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 2.00.120.09
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.13 0.2 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.440.130.15

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Les mandibules croisées et les barres blanches sur les ailes distinguent cette espèce de tous les autres oiseaux de l'Amérique du Nord. Le Bec-croisé bifascié occupe une aire de nidification circumpolaire dans les forêts de conifères du nord et alpestres; il est présent dans tout le nord de l'Amérique du Nord, depuis la côte du Pacifique à celle de l'Atlantique, et étend son domaine jusque dans la région centrale des montagnes Rocheuses (Benkman 2012). Sporadiquement nomade, il fait des irruptions liées à la disponibilité de nourriture, et on peut le trouver au sud de son aire de nidification normale. Comme d'autres becs-croisés, cette espèce est spécialisée dans la recherche de semences dans les pommes de conifères, et elle utilise ses mandibules croisées pour écarter les écailles des pommes de pin et libère les semences en les soulevant avec sa langue.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Bec-croisé bifascié niche dans une grande partie de l'intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique, plus particulièrement dans la moitié nord de la province. Campbell et coll. (2001) ont relevé que la véritable répartition de nidification est quelque peu énigmatique, mais qu'il se reproduit probablement aux endroits où il est régulièrement présent, et il peut à l'occasion nicher sur la côte. L'Atlas a fortement accru l'aire de reproduction confirmée et probable dans la moitié nord de la province, probablement par suite d'un accroissement de l'effort. Les données de l'Atlas ont également confirmé la nidification sur l'île de Vancouver à des altitudes élevées, et il a relevé d'autres observations côtières en 2008 uniquement, ce qui donne à penser que quelques nidifications locales et éphémères se produisent sur la côte sud de la Colombie-Britannique.

La probabilité d'observation était la plus forte dans les basses terres de la rivière Fort Nelson des plaines de la Taïga, et les valeurs de Pobs étaient modérément élevées dans les écoprovinces Montagnes boréales du nord et Intérieur subboréal. Ces zones abritaient également la plus forte abondance, plus particulièrement à des altitudes inférieures à 750 mètres, dans les zones biogéoclimatiques dominées par l'épicéa. Ces résultats contrastent de façon spectaculaire avec The Birds of British Columbia qui considérait que l'abondance la plus élevée se situait dans l'écoprovince Montagnes intérieures du sud, et elle est probablement imputable à une augmentation des relevés systématiques effectués par l'Atlas dans la moitié nord de la Colombie-Britannique, et au gauchissement du tableau dû à des mouvements irruptifs. Les centres d'abondance de Bec-croisé des sapins et de Bec-croisé bifascié étaient bien séparés, la première espèce étant plus commune dans les régions côtières et centre-sud de la province. Le Bec-croisé bifascié a un bec plus petit que le Bec-croisé des sapins, adapté pour se nourrir de différentes semences de conifère, ce qui peut contribuer à expliquer cette différence.

Le facteur critique qui influe sur la nidification lors d'une année donnée est la disponibilité de semences de conifère, non les caractéristiques détaillées de l'habitat. La nidification peut avoir lieu pendant la majeure partie de l'année si la nourriture est disponible en quantité suffisante, et par conséquent le pic de relevés de l'Atlas en juin a peut-être été mal apparié aux périodes de chant de pointe du Bec-croisé bifascié. La nidification confirmée ne reposait que sur l'observation d'oisillons prêts à l'envol qui peuvent voler avec des troupeaux plus importants pour s'éloigner du site de nidification immédiat. La nidification se produit en majeure partie à des altitudes inférieures à environ 1 000 mètres dans le nord de la Colombie-Britannique et au-dessus de 1 000 mètres dans la région méridionale de l'intérieur de la province, ce qui correspond à la distribution de la plupart des espèces d'épicéas (Picea).

Conservation et recommandations La superficie et la qualité de l'habitat risquent de baisser considérablement pour le Bec-croisé bifascié si les rotations d'exploitation forestière sont raccourcies, parce que les jeunes conifères produisent moins de pommes (Benkman 2012). Bien que l'on ne connaisse pas l'incidence sur les populations de Bec-croisé bifascié, des collisions avec des camions et des automobiles en mouvement se produisent en hiver, parce que l'oiseau est attiré vers les routes par le sel et le sable exposés.

Art Martell

Citation recommandée: Martell, A. 2015. Bec-croisé bifascié dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=WWCR&lang=fr [03 juin 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley