Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
American Bittern, John Reynolds
Photo © John Reynolds

Photo: John Reynolds
Breeding evidence - American Bittern
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - American Bittern
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - American Bittern
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

American Bittern
Botaurus lentiginosus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1138 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Blue
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
1 19 56 13
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -5.92 (-9.45 - -1.72)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.357 (-2.08 - 1.08)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
 0.03 0.110.07 0.01
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
 0.03  0.01 0.04
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.070.08 0.11   

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.03 0.01
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.11   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.080.06

Characteristics and Range The American Bittern's habit of hiding in dense reeds, coupled with its cryptic, striped plumage that blends in with marsh vegetation makes observing the species a challenge. American Bitterns breed in vegetated wetlands from Pacific to Atlantic coasts, from the Boreal Forest in the north to the southern Great Plains in the south. They migrate moderate distances to winter in coastal areas from southwestern British Columbia in the west and the Southern Coastal Plain of the Atlantic states in the east, south through Mexico to Central America (Lowther et al. 2009).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat American Bitterns have a wide but rather sparse breeding distribution in the province. They occur in all ecoprovinces except for the Coast and Mountains, Northern Boreal Mountains and Southern Alaska Mountains. Nests and young of this species are very difficult to find, so confirmed breeding was documented in only one 10-km square. Campbell et al. (1990) note that "There have been a number of observations of American Bittern from Vancouver Island, the East Kootenay, and the Peace River lowlands that suggest breeding in these areas. To date, however, nests with eggs or young have not been recorded". This situation has not changed and breeding remains to be confirmed in these areas.

They are found at low densities and have a very low Probability of Observation wherever they occur; in some regions where the species occurs, there is a less than 10% likelihood of finding it after 20 hours of effort. The core of the provincial population appears to be on the wetland-studded plateaus of the Central Interior and Sub-Boreal Interior ecoprovinces. Here, the species was recorded most frequently on point counts. Randomised point counts are not the best technique for sampling this bird's localised wetland habitat. It may be more common than Atlas records suggest. All interior Atlas records are from 440-1,140 m in elevation.

American Bitterns breed in both freshwater habitats including sloughs, marshes, shallow portions of lakes and brackish wetlands, always with tall emergent vegetation. Campbell et al. (1990) indicate breeding in British Columbia has also occurred in dry fields.

Conservation and Recommendations The American Bittern appears to be declining and retracting its breeding and wintering ranges northward (Lowther et al. 2009). Loss of wetland habitats appears to be the major driver of this decline. Cooper et al. (2003) list a number of recommendations for conservation of American Bitterns in British Columbia, including protection of wetland sites from water loss and drawdown during the nesting season, maintaining larger wetland complexes and protection of wetlands by purchase, conservation agreements, and creating Wildlife Habitat Features for this species under the British Columbia Forest and Range Practices Act.

David F. Fraser

Recommended citation: Fraser, D.F. 2015. American Bittern in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=AMBI&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Butor d'Amérique, John Reynolds
Photo © John Reynolds

Photo: John Reynolds
Indices de nidification - Butor d'Amérique
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Butor d'Amérique
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Butor d'Amérique
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Butor d'Amérique
Botaurus lentiginosus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1138 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Blue
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
1 19 56 13
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -5.92 (-9.45 - -1.72)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.357 (-2.08 - 1.08)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
 0.03 0.110.07 0.01
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
 0.03  0.01 0.04
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.070.08 0.11   

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.03 0.01
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.11   
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
  0.080.06

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition En plus de son plumage cryptique et rayé se fondant dans la végétation des marais, l'habitude du Butor d'Amérique de se cacher dans les roseaux denses complique l'observation de cette espèce d'oiseau. Le Butor d'Amérique se reproduit dans les milieux humides végétalisés des côtes du Pacifique et de l'Atlantique, de la forêt boréale dans le nord jusque dans les grandes plaines méridionales du sud. Il parcourt des distances moyennes lors de la période de migration afin d'hiverner dans les zones côtières du sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique dans l'ouest et de la plaine côtière du sud des provinces de l'Atlantique dans l'est, ainsi que vers le sud dans l'ensemble du Mexique jusqu'en Amérique centrale (Lowther et coll. 2009).

Répartition, abondance et habitat L'aire de nidification du Butor d'Amérique est vaste, mais plutôt éparpillée dans la province. L'espèce est présente dans toutes les écoprovinces, sauf dans celles des Côtes et montagnes et des Montagnes boréales du nord ainsi que des Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska. Comme les nids et les oisillons de cette espèce sont très difficiles à trouver, la nidification a seulement été confirmée dans une parcelle de 10 km. Campbell et coll. (1990) soulignent « qu'un certain nombre de mentions du Butor d'Amérique sur l'île de Vancouver, dans la région de Kootenay-Est et dans les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix, suggèrent une nidification dans ces régions. Jusqu'à ce jour, aucun nid contenant des oeufs ou des oisillons n'a été enregistré ». Cette situation n'a pas changé et la nidification doit être confirmée dans ces régions.

On retrouve ces oiseaux à de faibles densités forestières et dans des régions où le taux de probabilité d'observation est très faible; dans certaines zones où l'espèce est présente, le taux de probabilité d'observation du Butor d'Amérique après 20 heures de recherche est inférieur à 10 %. Le noyau de la population provinciale semble se trouver sur les plateaux ponctués de terres humides des écoprovinces du Centre intérieur et de l'Intérieur subboréal. L'espèce y a été observée plus fréquemment grâce à des dénombrements ponctuels. Les dénombrements ponctuels au hasard ne constituent pas la meilleure technique d'échantillonnage de l'habitat humide localisé de cet oiseau. Sa présence pourrait y être plus commune que ce que les relevés de l'Atlas suggèrent. Toutes les observations intérieures de l'Atlas varient entre 440 et 1 140 m d'altitude.

Le Butor d'Amérique se reproduit dans les habitats d'eau douce, notamment dans les bourbiers, les marais, les eaux peu profondes des lacs et les zones humides saumâtres, qui comportent invariablement de la végétation émergente haute. Campbell et coll. (1990) indiquent qu'il y a également eu des observations de nidification en Colombie-Britannique dans des champs secs.

Conservation et recommandations Le Butor d'Amérique semble en déclin et en retrait dans ses aires de reproduction et d'hivernage vers le nord (Lowther et coll. 2009). La disparition d'habitats humides semble être le facteur principal de ce déclin. Cooper et coll. (2003) énumèrent un certain nombre de recommandations en vue d'assurer la conservation du Butor d'Amérique en Colombie-Britannique, dont la protection des terres humides contre le dessèchement et l'abaissement de la surface lors de la saison de nidification, la conservation de terres humides plus complexes et la protection des terres humides par l'achat de celles-ci, la conclusion d'accords en matière de conservation et l'élaboration d'éléments d'habitats fauniques pour cette espèce en vertu de la Forest and Range Practices Act de la Colombie-Britannique.

David F. Fraser

Citation recommandée: Fraser, D.F. 2015. Butor d'Amérique dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=AMBI&lang=fr [12 août 2022]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley