Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
American White Pelican, H. Loney Dickson
Photo © H. Loney Dickson

Photo: H. Loney Dickson
Breeding evidence - American White Pelican
Breeding evidence

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

American White Pelican
Pelecanus erythrorhynchos

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
569 - 966 m
Conserv. status:
BCRISC: Red
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
1 0 2 6
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Canada1973 - 2012 3.62 (-1.66 - 8.48)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
       
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
       
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
       

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range American White Pelicans are noteworthy for their graceful flight, large size, white plumage, and enormous pouched bill. The species breeds in scattered, larger wetlands in western and southern North America, and winters in the United States Southern Coastal Plains and coastal California through Mexico and Central America (Knopf and Evans 2004).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat In British Columbia, American White Pelicans are only known to breed in the Central Interior Ecoprovince on islands in Stum and Puntzi lakes, with foraging occurring on shallow lakes in the surrounding area. During the Atlas period, breeding was only recorded from Stum Lake, although birds were seen in two other 10-km squares in the Central Interior Ecoprovince, including on Puntzi Lake. Munro and Cowan (1947) reported unconfirmed breeding activity at Charlotte, Puntze (sic) and Tzenaicut lakes, although Paul (1959) indicated that there was no proof of breeding at these locations. In 2013, the year after the Atlas field seasons, breeding was confirmed for the first time at Puntzi Lake, with photographs taken of flightless young on the lake. Breeding was also observed in 2014 on Puntzi Lake, but only after the first nesting attempts at Stum Lake had failed (Steciw 2015).

The population estimate for British Columbia is 1,100-1,200 birds, and the estimate for the number of breeding pairs is 300-500 (Steciw 2015). American White Pelicans are prone to deserting nests because of human disturbance (literature reviewed in Knopf and Evans 2004) and this has been shown to be an issue for the British Columbia population (Bunnell et al. 1981, Campbell et al. 1990). In addition to human disturbance, other disturbances appear to be detrimental as well. In two years during the Atlas period, nest abandonment at Stum Lake was attributed to the presence of a Woodchuck Marmota monax on a breeding island (Steciw 2015).

Conservation and Recommendations The American White Pelican is on the British Columbia Red List and is one of only three species listed as Endangered under the British Columbia Wildlife Act, due to its small, extremely localised, and vulnerable breeding population. Stum Lake and 19 surrounding foraging lakes used by the pelicans are protected under the British Columbia Park Act and the British Columbia Forest and Range Protection Act respectively. Similar protection is required at the Puntzi Lake breeding location. Despite the protections afforded the pelicans by the province, wholesale nest abandonment has occurred frequently, likely due to some form of disturbance. Camera monitoring during the breeding season may help determine the cause. American White Pelicans may be nesting in other areas in the province where there are islands in shallow lakes, and birders are encouraged to report nesting observations. Care should be taken not to disturb nesting birds; approaching closely is not advised.

David F. Fraser and Leah R. Ramsay

Recommended citation: Fraser, D.F. and Ramsay, L.R. 2015. American White Pelican in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=AWPE&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Pélican d'Amérique, H. Loney Dickson
Photo © H. Loney Dickson

Photo: H. Loney Dickson
Indices de nidification - Pélican d'Amérique
Indices de nidification

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Pélican d'Amérique
Pelecanus erythrorhynchos

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
569 - 966 m
Statut de conserv.:
BCRISC: Red
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
1 0 2 6
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Canada1973 - 2012 3.62 (-1.66 - 8.48)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
       
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
       
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
       

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
    
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
    
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le pélican d'Amérique est reconnu pour son vol gracieux, sa grande taille, son plumage blanc et son énorme bec possède une poche extensible. L'espèce se reproduit dans les grandes terres humides dispersées dans les régions de l'ouest et du sud de l'Amérique du Nord et hiverne dans les plaines côtières du sud des États-Unis et dans les régions côtières de la Californie et plus au sud vers le Mexique et l'Amérique centrale (Knopf et Evans 2004).

Répartition, abondance et habitat En Colombie-Britannique, d'après ce que l'on sait, le Pélican d'Amérique ne se reproduirait que dans l'écoprovince Intérieur centre sur les îles des lacs Stum et Puntzi, s'alimentant dans des lacs peu profonds des environs. Au cours de la période de l'Atlas, la reproduction n'a été enregistrée qu'au lac Stum, bien que des oiseaux aient été observés dans deux autres zones de 10 km carrés dans l'écoprovince Intérieur centre, y compris au lac Puntzi. Munro et Cowan (1947) ont fait rapport d'une activité de reproduction non confirmée aux lacs Charlotte, Puntze (sic) et Tzenaicut, bien que Paul (1959) ait indiqué qu'il n'y avait aucune preuve d'activités de reproduction à ces endroits. En 2013, l'année qui a suivi les saisons des travaux de l'Atlas, des activités de reproduction ont été confirmées pour la première fois au lac Puntzi et des photographies d'oisillons coureurs ont été prises sur le lac. La reproduction a également été observée en 2014 sur le lac Puntzi, mais seulement après les premières tentatives de nidification sur le lac Stum aient échoué (Steciw 2015).

L'estimation de la population pour la Colombie-Britannique se situe entre 1 100 et 1 200 oiseaux, et l'estimation du nombre de couples reproducteurs est de 300 à 500 (Steciw 2015). Le Pélican d'Amérique est enclin à quitter son nid en raison de la présence humaine (écrits examinés dans Knopf et Evans 2004) et cela s'est avéré être un problème pour la population en Colombie-Britannique (Bunnell et coll. 1981, Campbell et coll. 1990). En plus de la perturbation causée par l'homme, d'autres types de perturbations semblent également être néfastes. Au cours de deux années durant la période de l'Atlas, l'abandon des nids au lac Stum a été attribué à la présence d'une marmotte commune Marmota monax sur une île de reproduction (Steciw 2015).

Conservation et recommandations Le pélican d'Amérique se trouve sur la Liste rouge de la Colombie-Britannique et est l'une des trois espèces identifiées comme étant menacées en vertu de la British Columbia Wildlife Act, en raison de sa population reproductive faible, extrêmement localisée et vulnérable. Le lac Stum et les 19 lacs sources d'alimentation environnants utilisés par les pélicans sont protégés en vertu de la British Columbia Park Act et la British Columbia Forest and Range Protection Act, respectivement. Une protection semblable est nécessaire pour l'aire de reproduction du lac Puntzi. Malgré les protections accordées aux pélicans par la province, l'abandon systématique de nids se produit fréquemment, probablement en raison d'une forme de perturbation. La surveillance par caméra au cours de la période de reproduction pourrait aider à déterminer la cause précise. Le pélican d'Amérique pourrait avoir établi des nids dans d'autres régions de la province où on retrouve des îles dans des lacs peu profonds et on encourage les observateurs d'oiseaux à déclarer les nids observés. On devra aussi porter attention à ne pas déranger les oiseaux en nidification; s'approcher des oiseaux est déconseillé.

David F. Fraser and Leah R. Ramsay

Citation recommandée: Fraser, D.F. and Ramsay, L.R. 2015. Pélican d'Amérique dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=AWPE&lang=fr [06 juil. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley