Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Black-headed Grosbeak, Ralph Hocken
Photo © Ralph Hocken

Photo: Ralph Hocken
Breeding evidence - Black-headed Grosbeak
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Black-headed Grosbeak
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Black-headed Grosbeak
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Black-headed Grosbeak
Pheucticus melanocephalus
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1486 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
112 100 386 291
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 1.29 (-0.168 - 2.76)High
Canada1973 - 2012 1.46 (0.018 - 2.97)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.070.12 0.17
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
    0.17  
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.120.09 0.07  0.18

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.040.12
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.20.080.12
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.08 0.14 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.05  0.07

Characteristics and Range The Black-headed Grosbeak is known for its distinctive colours and melodious song. It breeds from subalpine forests to desert riparian zones throughout western North America, from southern British Columbia east to the Prairies, and south to the Chihuahuan Desert in Mexico (Ortega and Hill 2010). Sedentary only in the far south of its range, it makes a complete migration between most of the breeding range and wintering areas in western Mexico.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Black-headed Grosbeak breeds across the southern part of the province, almost entirely south of 52░ N, except in the Northern Pacific Rainforest Bird Conservation Region, within which its range extends north to the Stikine River valley at 57░ N. Although there has been no historical change in continental distribution (Ortega and Hill 2010), there has been a steady expansion of its range across British Columbia over the past 50 years (Campbell et al. 2001) and the Atlas shows continuing expansion in the interior.

The highest Probabilities of Observation, in the Georgia Depression and at lower elevations in the southern Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince, match the areas of highest abundance based on Atlas point counts. Within these areas, abundance is highest below 250 m in the Coastal Western Hemlock biogeoclimatic zone, although the Probability of Observation model indicated the likelihood of finding the species is higher in Coastal Douglas-fir than any other biogeoclimatic zone. The Black-headed Grosbeak uses diverse habitats including deciduous forest and woodlands, shrub thickets associated with wetlands, and lightly wooded habitat in suburban areas. A well-developed understory combined with large trees appears to be a key habitat combination.

There has been a significant increase in the relative abundance of Black-headed Grosbeak in British Columbia since 1970, based on Breeding Bird Survey data (Environment Canada 2013), but the centre of the provincial population (in the Georgia Depression Ecoprovince) has not changed since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 2001.

Conservation and Recommendations Although there is no overall conservation concern, with Black-headed Grosbeak populations stable or increasing across the entire breeding range (Environment Canada 2013), this species is susceptible to habitat loss through the conversion of deciduous woodlands along creeks and rivers to housing or agricultural developments.

Art Martell

Recommended citation: Martell, A. 2015. Black-headed Grosbeak in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BHGR&lang=en [13 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Cardinal à tête noire, Ralph Hocken
Photo © Ralph Hocken

Photo: Ralph Hocken
Indices de nidification - Cardinal à tête noire
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Cardinal à tête noire
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Cardinal à tête noire
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Cardinal à tête noire
Pheucticus melanocephalus

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1486 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
112 100 386 291
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 1.29 (-0.168 - 2.76)High
Canada1973 - 2012 1.46 (0.018 - 2.97)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.070.12 0.17
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
    0.17  
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.120.09 0.07  0.18

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
  0.040.12
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.20.080.12
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.08 0.14 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.05  0.07

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le Cardinal à tête noire est connu à cause de ses couleurs caractéristiques et de son chant mélodieux. Il se reproduit depuis les forêts subalpines jusqu'aux zones riveraines des déserts à travers tout l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, depuis le sud de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu'à l'est des Prairies, et vers le sud jusqu'au désert de Chihuahua au Mexique (Ortega et Hill 2010). Il est sédentaire uniquement dans l'extrême sud de son aire de répartition et effectue une migration complète entre la plupart des aires de reproduction et des aires d'hivernage dans l'ouest du Mexique.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Cardinal à tête noire niche dans toute la partie sud de la province, presque entièrement au sud de 52°N, sauf dans la région de conservation des oiseaux de la forêt pluviale du nord du Pacifique, dans laquelle son aire de répartition s'étend vers le nord jusqu'à la vallée de la rivière Stikine à 57° N. Bien qu'il n'y ait pas eu de changement antérieur de la distribution continentale (Ortega et Hill 2010), il y a eu une expansion régulière de son aire de répartition dans toute la Colombie-Britannique au cours des 50 dernières années (Campbell et coll. 2001), et l'Atlas a fait état d'une expansion continue dans l'intérieur.

Les probabilités d'observation les plus élevées dans la dépression de Georgia et à de faibles altitudes dans les écoprovinces Côtes et montagnes du sud, correspondaient aux régions dans lesquelles l'abondance était la plus élevée, selon les dénombrements par point de l'Atlas. Dans ces régions, l'abondance était la plus élevée à moins de 250 m dans la zone biogéoclimatique côtière à pruche de l'Ouest, bien que le modèle des probabilités d'observation indique que la probabilité de trouver des espèces était plus élevée dans la zone côtière à douglas que dans toute autre zone biogéoclimatique. Le Cardinal à tête noire utilise divers habitats, notamment des forêts de feuillus et des terres boisées, des arbustes associés à des marais et des habitats légèrement boisés dans des zones suburbaines. Un sous-étage bien développé avec de grands arbres semble être une combinaison d'habitat clé.

On a constaté une augmentation considérable de l'abondance relative du Cardinal à tête noire en Colombie-Britannique depuis 1970, si on fait fond sur le Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs (Environnement Canada 2013), mais le centre de la population provinciale (dans l'écoprovince Dépression de Georgia) n'a pas changé depuis que The Birds of British Columbia a été publié.

Conservation et recommandations Bien qu'il n'y ait pas de préoccupations globales en matière de conservation, la population de Cardinal à tête noire étant stable ou en cours d'augmentation dans l'ensemble de l'aire de reproduction (Environnement Canada 2013), cette espèce est vulnérable à la perte d'habitat par suite de la conversion des régions boisées de feuillus le long des ruisseaux et des rivières en faveur de projets de logement ou agricoles.

Art Martell

Citation recommandée: Martell, A. 2015. Cardinal à tête noire dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BHGR&lang=fr [14 nov. 2019]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley