Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Blackpoll Warbler, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Breeding evidence - Blackpoll Warbler
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Blackpoll Warbler
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Blackpoll Warbler
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Blackpoll Warbler
Setophaga striata
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
42 - 1694 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
35 52 354 229
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.938 (-4.37 - 3.09)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -5.16 (-9.09 - -1.13)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.20.03  0.12 0.12
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.20.03 0.03  0.12
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.140.14    0.12

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.090.06  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.080.20.13
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
  0.01 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.220.080.12

Characteristics and Range "Can you hear it?" is a question asked by bird-watchers with acute hearing who encounter singing male Blackpoll Warblers on their breeding grounds. This delightful songster has one of the highest frequency songs known among birds (DeLuca et al. 2013). It tests birders' hearing abilities across the species' range from coast to coast, in North America's boreal, taiga, and northern coniferous forests. This black-and-white warbler with bright orange-yellow legs can also be a challenge to see: pinpointing its location is difficult as it forages in the branches of spruce trees. Birds breeding in Alaska and northern British Columbia undertake the longest migration of any North American warbler, heading east to Atlantic Canada and then south over the Atlantic Ocean to the wintering grounds in South America, a journey of up to 8,000 km (DeLuca et al. 2015).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Blackpoll Warbler is widely distributed across central and northern British Columbia, with southern extensions to that distribution along the Rocky and Coast mountains. Compared to The Birds of British Columbia published in 2001, the Atlas greatly increased the number of observations in northern and central British Columbia, filling gaps in known distribution, yet the overall provincial range remains the same.

This warbler is found throughout coniferous forests, with the majority of observations and highest abundance between 750 and 1,250 m. Highest abundance and Probability of Observation values coincided with northern spruce (Picea) forests of the Spruce - Willow - Birch biogeoclimatic zone in the Northern Boreal Mountains, Engelmann Spruce -Subalpine Fir and Sub-Boreal Spruce biogeoclimatic zones of the Sub-Boreal Interior, and locally in the western Chilcotin Plateau (Central Interior) and Cariboo Mountains (Southern Interior Mountains) ecoprovinces. In these broad climate-vegetation types, it occupies spruce - alder (Alnus) - willow (Salix) thickets (DeLuca et al. 2013), and is considered a characteristic species of White Spruce (Picea glauca) and Black Spruce (Picea mariana) in the western Boreal Forest (Campbell et al. 2001). DeLuca et al. (2013) also note that it is found in Tamarack (Larix laricina).

Conservation and Recommendations Up to 75% of Blackpoll Warblers spend the breeding season in Canada (DeLuca et al. 2013). Yet, despite being one the most common birds in its breeding range, little is known about its breeding ecology or population trends. Breeding Bird Survey trends across Canada and British Columbia show long-term declines but the trends have low reliability (Environment Canada 2014) due to the majority of routes being conducted south of the species' core breeding range. Increasing timber, oil, and natural gas extraction is impacting some Boreal Forest bird populations, contributing to long-term declines of Blackpoll Warblers (NABCI-U.S. 2014).

Christopher Di Corrado

Recommended citation: Di Corrado, C. 2015. Blackpoll Warbler in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BKPW&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Paruline rayée, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Indices de nidification - Paruline rayée
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Paruline rayée
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Paruline rayée
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Paruline rayée
Setophaga striata

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
42 - 1694 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
35 52 354 229
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -0.938 (-4.37 - 3.09)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -5.16 (-9.09 - -1.13)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.20.03  0.12 0.12
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.20.03 0.03  0.12
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.140.14    0.12

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.090.06  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.080.20.13
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
  0.01 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.220.080.12

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition « L'entendez-vous? » est une question commune posée par les observateurs d'oiseaux ayant bonne ouïe qui aperçoivent une paruline rayée mâle chantant dans leurs aires de reproduction. Ce chanteur charmant possède l'un des chants de plus haute fréquence de tous les oiseaux (DeLuca et coll. 2013). Ceci teste l'ouïe des observateurs d'oiseaux à travers le territoire de l'espèce, dans les forêts boréales et les forêts de conifères de l'Amérique du Nord. Cette paruline noire et blanche à pattes jaune-orange vif peut aussi être difficile à apercevoir : trouver son emplacement précis est difficile puisqu'elle se nourrit dans les branches d'épinettes. Les oiseaux de cette espèce se reproduisant en Alsaka et dans le nord de la Colombie-Britannique entreprennent la migration la plus longue de toutes les espèces de parulines nord-américaines, se dirigeant vers l'est dans les provinces de l'Atlantique et ensuite vers le sud au-dessus de l'Atlantique vers les territoires d'hivernage de l'Amérique du Sud; un voyage de jusqu'à 8 000 km (DeLuca et coll. 2015).

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Paruline rayée est largement répandue dans tout le centre et le nord de la Colombie-Britannique et son aire de répartition se prolonge vers le sud le long des Rocheuses et de la chaîne Côtière. En comparaison avec l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia publié en 2001, l'Atlas a permis d'accroître considérablement le nombre d'observations dans le nord et le centre de la Colombie-Britannique, comblant ainsi des lacunes dans l'aire de répartition connue. Cependant, l'aire de répartition générale dans la province demeure la même.

Cette paruline se trouve dans l'ensemble des forêts de conifères, la majorité des observations et la plus grande abondance se situant entre 750 et 1 250 m d'altitude. L'abondance et les valeurs de la probabilité d'observation les plus élevées coïncidaient avec les forêts boréales d'épinettes (Picea) de la zone biogéoclimatique de l'épicéa, du saule et du bouleau dans les Montagnes boréales du Nord, des zones biogéoclimatiques subalpines du sapin et de l'épinette d'Engelmann et subboréale de l'épicéa de l'Intérieur subboréal, et localement à l'ouest du Plateau Chilcotin (écoprovince Intérieur centre) et dans les montagnes de Cariboo (écoprovince Montagnes intérieures du sud). Dans ces vastes types de climats et de végétations, elle niche dans des bosquets d'épicéas, d'aulnes (Alnus) et de saules (Salix) (DeLuca et coll. 2013), et est considérée comme une espèce typique de l'épinette blanche (Picea glauca) et de l'épinette noire (Picea mariana) dans la forêt boréale de l'Ouest (Campbell et coll. 2001). DeLuca et coll. (2013) note également qu'on la trouve dans le mélèze laricin (Larix laricina).

Conservation et recommandations Jusqu'à 75 % de parulines rayées passent la période de reproduction au Canada (DeLuca et coll. 2013). Mais, malgré qu'il soit l'un des oiseaux les plus communs de son aire de reproduction, on connaît peu de détails concernant son écologie de nidation ou les tendances de ses populations. Les tendances du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs à travers le Canada et la Colombie-Britannique démontrent un déclin à long terme, mais ces tendances ne sont pas très fiables (Environnement Canada 2014) puisque la majorité des itinéraires observés se trouvent au sud de la partie principale de l'aire de reproduction. L'augmentation des activités d'exploitation forestière et d'extraction de pétrole et de gaz naturel affecte les populations d'oiseaux des forêts boréales, contribuant au déclin à long terme de parulines rayées (NABCI-U.S. 2014).

Christopher Di Corrado

Citation recommandée: Di Corrado, C. 2015. Paruline rayée dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=BKPW&lang=fr [02 avr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley