Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Dusky Flycatcher, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Breeding evidence - Dusky Flycatcher
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Dusky Flycatcher
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Dusky Flycatcher
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Dusky Flycatcher
Empidonax oberholseri
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1897 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
84 205 946 782
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.45 (-2.79 - -0.087)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -0.859 (-2.16 - 0.449)High

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.240.03 0.190.19 0.12
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.240.03 0.03  0.19
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.140.25 0.19  0.13

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.080.10.13 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.080.080.13
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.24 0.15 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.140.150.230.21

Characteristics and Range The sharp notes of the Dusky Flycatcher's song are one of the characteristic bird sounds of the dry valleys of the southern British Columbian interior. Its global breeding range extends across montane western North America, mainly from the Rocky Mountains west, and from southern Yukon to northernmost Baja California. It is a short- to medium-distance migrant to the winter range in Mexico, southern Arizona and New Mexico.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat This species occurs throughout most of the interior of the province, although it is much less widespread in the northern third of British Columbia and east of the Rocky Mountains. West of the Coast and Cascade mountains, it only occurs along the largest river valleys, and has only been confirmed to breed once, prior to the Atlas. The Atlas maps many more records in the Sub-Boreal Interior and Northern Boreal Mountains than were known when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1997. It is not clear if this is simply a result of more comprehensive coverage, or an actual range expansion.

The Probability of Observation for Dusky Flycatcher is highest and most extensive on the mid-elevation plateaus in the Central Interior and Sub-Boreal Interior ecoprovinces. Highest abundance on point counts is also in these ecoprovinces, plus the Southern Interior, and locally in the Northern Boreal Mountains, and between 750 and 1,250 m altitude. Campbell et al. (1997) considered the Southern Interior Ecoprovince to support the highest numbers.

The Dusky Flycatcher occupies a wide variety of forested habitats but generally avoids cool coniferous forest with a closed canopy (including most coastal and subalpine forests). It is common in the open Douglas-fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii) and Ponderosa Pine (Pinus ponderosa) forests of the southern interior; it is also common in Trembling Aspen (Populus tremuloides) stands and areas where aspens are intermixed with conifers. This is reflected in the higher abundances in Interior Douglas-fir, Sub-Boreal Spruce and Sub-Boreal Pine-Spruce biogeoclimatic zones. It will also use shrubby burned or logged areas with only scattered trees. In far northern British Columbia the southern Yukon, it breeds in very open forest close to the timberline (Sinclair et al. 2003), a habitat which it avoids across most of its range. A requirement is tall deciduous shrubs or small trees such as willows (Salix species) or Saskatoon (Amelanchier alnifolia), in which it makes nests. Campbell et al. (1997) found that 95% of nests in British Columbia were in deciduous shrubs and small trees.

Conservation and Recommendations No conservation concerns have been expressed about the Dusky Flycatcher. There may be a slight long-term declining trend in British Columbia, based on Breeding Bird Survey data, but at the continental level, the population is apparently stable (Sauer et al. 2014).

Wayne C. Weber

Recommended citation: Weber, W.C. 2015. Dusky Flycatcher in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=DUFL&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Moucherolle sombre, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Indices de nidification - Moucherolle sombre
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Moucherolle sombre
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Moucherolle sombre
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Moucherolle sombre
Empidonax oberholseri

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1897 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
84 205 946 782
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.45 (-2.79 - -0.087)Medium
Canada1973 - 2012 -0.859 (-2.16 - 0.449)High

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.240.03 0.190.19 0.12
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.240.03 0.03  0.19
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.140.25 0.19  0.13

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.080.10.13 
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.080.080.13
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.24 0.15 
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.140.150.230.21

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Les notes aiguës du chant du Gobemouche enfumé constituent certains des chants d'oiseaux caractéristiques des vallées arides du sud de la région intérieure de la Colombie-Britannique. Son aire de reproduction générale s'étend dans les aires montagnardes occidentales de reproduction de l'Amérique du Nord, principalement de l'ouest des montagnes Rocheuses et du sud du Yukon jusqu'à l'extrémité nord de la Basse-Californie. Il parcourt des distances courtes à moyennes lors de la période de migration pour hiverner au Mexique, dans le sud de l'Arizona et au Nouveau-Mexique.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Bien qu'elle soit moins répandue dans le tiers nord de la Colombie-Britannique et l'est des montagnes Rocheuses, cette espèce occupe la majeure partie de l'intérieur de la province. À l'ouest de la chaîne Côtière et de la chaîne des Cascades, elle occupe seulement le long des grandes vallées riveraines. Sa reproduction n'a en outre été confirmée qu'une fois avant la période couverte par l'Atlas. Celui-ci cartographie davantage de relevés dans les écoprovinces de l'Intérieur subboréal et des Montagnes boréales du nord que ce que l'on connaissait lors de la parution de The Birds of British Columbia en 1997. Il n'est pas clair s'il s'agit seulement du résultat d'une couverture plus exhaustive ou d'une réelle expansion de l'aire de reproduction.

La probabilité d'observation du Gobemouche enfumé est plus élevée et plus étendue sur les plateaux de moyennes altitudes situés dans les écoprovinces du Centre intérieur et de l'Intérieur subboréal, et localement dans l'écoprovince des Montagnes boréales du nord, ainsi qu'entre 750 et 1 250 m d'altitude. Campbell et coll. (1997) ont constaté que l'écoprovince du Sud intérieur comportait le plus grand nombre d'individus.

Bien que le Gobemouche enfumé occupe une grande diversité d'habitats forestiers, il évite généralement les forêts fraîches de conifères à couvert fermé (don't la plupart des forêts côtières et subalpines). Il est commun dans les forêts dégagées de douglas de Menzies (Pseudotsuga menziesii) et de pins ponderosa (Pinus ponderosa) du sud intérieur; sa présence est également commune dans les peuplements de peupliers faux-trembles (Populus tremuloides) et dans les régions où les peupliers s'entremêlent avec les conifères, comme le démontrent les abondances plus élevées observées dans la zone biogéoclimatique du sapin de Douglas, subboréale de l'épicéa et subboréale du pin et de l'épicéa. Dans l'extrémité nord de la Colombie-Britannique et le sud du Yukon, il se reproduit dans des forêts très dégagées situées dans la majeure partie de son aire de répartition. Il a besoin de grands arbustes à feuillage ou de petits arbres comme le saule (espèceSalix) ou l'amélanchier de Saskatoon (Amelanchier alnifolia) pour y construire ses nids. Campbell et coll. (1997) ont constaté que 95 % des nids relevés en Colombie-Britannique étaient construits dans des arbustes à feuillage ou de petits arbres.

Conservation et recommandations Le Gobemouche enfumé ne suscite aucune préoccupation en matière de conservation. Bien qu'il pourrait peut-être y avoir une tendance de déclin à long terme en Colombie-Britannique selon les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs, la population semble stable dans la région continentale (Sauer et coll. 2014).

Wayne C. Weber

Citation recommandée: Weber, W.C. 2015. Moucherolle sombre dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=DUFL&lang=fr [25 sept. 2021]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley