Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Hutton's Vireo, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Breeding evidence - Hutton's Vireo
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Hutton's Vireo
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Hutton's Vireo
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Hutton's Vireo
Vireo huttoni
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
4 - 1440 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
7
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
40 20 130 53
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 2.36 (-0.995 - 5.82)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 1.65 (-2.2 - 5.01)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
      0.08
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
    0.07  
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
      0.1

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.09
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.08  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Characteristics and Range This diminutive and unobtrusive vireo, which at a glance can be mistaken for a Ruby-crowned Kinglet, is the only largely sedentary vireo north of Mexico (Davis 1995). Being a resident bird, it starts delivering its loud, strident song phrases early in the season, brightening up Metro Vancouver and Vancouver Island parks on warmer February and March days. It ranges through westernmost North America's mixed forests, from southwest British Columbia to the Mexican Sierra Madre. Two subspecies occur at the northern limit of the range in southern British Columbia: V. h. insularis, which is endemic to Vancouver Island, and V. h. huttoni on the mainland.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Hutton's Vireo is confined to the Georgia Depression and adjacent southernmost Coast and Mountains ecoprovinces, where it is widely distributed on Vancouver Island, the Gulf Islands and adjacent lower elevations on the British Columbia mainland. This range is unchanged since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1997. An exceptional report along the lower Thompson River was most likely a non-breeding individual that dispersed up the Fraser Valley.

Hutton's Vireos are not particularly common anywhere, but are most often encountered around southeastern and western coasts of Vancouver Island, on the Gulf Islands, and across the Fraser River delta north to the Sunshine Coast. Atlas point count data show they are most numerous below 250 m, and suggest that local abundance is slightly higher in the Coast and Mountains ecoprovince than in the Georgia Depression, and similar in the Coastal Douglas-fir and Coastal Western Hemlock biogeoclimatic zones. However, the time period (28 May-10 July) on which abundance is based is later than the peak period of Hutton's Vireo singing (Campbell et al. 1997); this may have resulted in lower detection rates, especially in the Georgia Depression (Hutton's Vireos may breed later in the Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince). Atlas reports suggest that the species could occur as high as 600 m, which is much higher than the highest confirmed nest at 240 m (Campbell et al. 1997).

The Hutton's Vireo favours lower elevation mixed forest and woodland, especially with Douglas-fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii), Western Hemlock (Tsuga heterophylla), Red Alder (Alnus rubra), and maples (Acer species) with a structurally diverse understory that includes fruiting shrubs like Red-osier Dogwood (Cornus sericea), Red Huckleberry (Vaccinium parvifolium) and Indian Plum (Oemleria cerasiformis). It likes edge habitats, and will use parks and mature gardens with native tree species in rural and suburban neighbourhoods.

Conservation and Recommendations This bird's natural low density means that it is not well sampled by existing monitoring efforts, although Breeding Bird Survey and Christmas Bird Count data suggest it may be slightly increasing over the long-term (Environment Canada 2011). A large portion of its limited British Columbia range overlaps with heavily populated areas, and although there are no major conservation concerns for the species, the preservation of mixed wood habitats with well-developed understories will be key to maintaining present populations.

Peter J. A. Davidson and George F. Clulow

Recommended citation: Davidson, P.J.A. and Clulow, G.F. 2015. Hutton's Vireo in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=HUVI&lang=en [10 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Viréo de Hutton, Glenn Bartley
Photo © Glenn Bartley

Photo: Glenn Bartley
Indices de nidification - Viréo de Hutton
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Viréo de Hutton
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Viréo de Hutton
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Viréo de Hutton
Vireo huttoni

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
4 - 1440 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
7
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
40 20 130 53
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 2.36 (-0.995 - 5.82)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 1.65 (-2.2 - 5.01)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
      0.08
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
    0.07  
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
      0.1

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.09
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.08  
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
    

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Ce viréon de petite taille et discret, qui à première vue peut être confondu avec un roitelet à couronne rubis, est le seul viréon principalement sédentaire au nord du Mexique (Davis 1995). Ce résident permanent commence à faire part de son chant fort et strident tôt au printemps, améliorant les parcs de la ville et de l'île de Vancouver lors des jours plus chauds de février et de mars. Son territoire s'étend des forêts mixtes de l'extrême ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, au sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique à la Sierra Madre du Mexique. On retrouve deux sous-espèces à la limite nordique de son étendue dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique : V. h. insularis, qui est endémique à l'île de Vancouver et V. h. huttoni sur la côte.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Viréo de Hutton se concentre dans l'écoprovince Dépression de Georgia et dans l'écoprovince adjacente la plus au sud Côtes et Montagnes, où il est largement répandu sur l'île de Vancouver, les îles Gulf et aux altitudes plus basses adjacentes de la partie continentale de la Colombie-Britannique. Cette aire n'a pas changé depuis la publication de l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia en 1997. Le relevé exceptionnel effectué report le long du cours inférieur de la rivière Thompson River était fort probablement un individu non reproducteur dispersé dans la vallée du Fraser.

Le Viréo de Hutton n'est pas particulièrement commun ailleurs, mais il est observé le plus souvent près des côtes sud-est et ouest de l'île de Vancouver, sur les îles Gulf et dans le delta du fleuve Fraser au nord de la côte Sunshine. Les données de dénombrement ponctuel de l'Atlas indiquent qu'on le retrouve en plus grand nombre sous 250 m, et donnent à penser que l'abondance locale est légèrement plus élevée dans l'écoprovince Côtes et montagnes que dans la Dépression de Georgia, et similaire dans les zones biogéoclimatiques du douglas taxifolié et de la pruche de l'Ouest de la région côtière. Toutefois, la période (28 mai au 10 juillet) sur laquelle l'abondance se fonde est postérieure à la période de pointe pour observer le chant du Viréo de Hutton (Campbell et coll. 1997); ce qui pourrait avoir occasionné de plus faibles taux de détection, en particulier dans la Dépression de Georgia (le Viréo de Hutton peut se reproduire plus tard dans l'écoprovince Côtes et montagnes). Les relevés de l'Atlas donnent à penser que l'espèce pourrait être présente à une altitude aussi élevée que 600 m, ce qui est beaucoup plus haut que le nid confirmé à l'altitude la plus élevée de 240 m (Campbell et coll. 1997).

Le Viréo de Hutton prefère les forêts mixtes et boisements de plus basse altitude, en particulier ceux comportant des douglas verts (Pseudotsuga menziesii), des pruches de l'Ouest (Tsuga heterophylla), des aulnes rouges (Alnus rubra), et des érables (Acer) et un sous-boise structurellement hétérogène qui inclut des arbustes fruitiers tels que le cornouiller stolonifère (Cornus sericea), l'airelle à petites feuilles (Vaccinium parvifolium) et l'oemléria faux-prunier (Oemleria cerasiformis). L'espèce aime les habitats de lisière et utilisera des parcs et des jardins matures dans lesquels se trouvent des espèces d'arbres indigènes dans des quartiers ruraux et suburbains.

Conservation et recommandations La densité de population naturelle de cet oiseau veut dire qu'il n'est pas bien étudié par les efforts de surveillance actuels, bien que les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs et du Recensement des oiseaux de Noêl sous-entendent que la population augmente un peu à long terme (Environnement Canada 2011). Une grande portion de son étendue limitée en Colombie-Britannique chevauche des régions très peuplées et, bien qu'il n'existe aucune préoccupation de conservation majeure pour cette espèce, la préservation des habitats de forêts mixtes à sous-bois bien développés sera importante afin de maintenir les populations actuelles.

Peter J. A. Davidson and George F. Clulow

Citation recommandée: Davidson, P.J.A. and Clulow, G.F. 2015. Viréo de Hutton dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=HUVI&lang=fr [20 sept. 2019]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley