Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Vaux's Swift, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Breeding evidence - Vaux's Swift
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Vaux's Swift
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Vaux's Swift
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Vaux's Swift
Chaetura vauxi
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
3 - 1346 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
18 85 391 88
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -2.14 (-5.43 - 1.29)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 -2.2 (-5.55 - 1.23)Low

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
   0.120.28 0.17
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
    0.14 0.06
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.3  0.12  0.17

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.13
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.180.070.3
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.14 0.140.04
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.07  0.06

Characteristics and Range The fast-flying, agile Vaux's (pronounced "vox's") Swift often impresses observers as it dashes above riparian groves or darts swiftly over pond surfaces snatching its insect prey. Nesting and communal roosting occur primarily in large, hollow trees, but occasionally chimneys are used as the Chimney Swift does in eastern North America. The Vaux's Swift is a migrant, breeding in western mountain ranges from southwest Alaska to central California, and wintering in southern Mexico and Central America, where there is also a resident population.

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Vaux's Swift is widespread across southern British Columbia, extending north along the length of the Coast Mountains to the St. Elias Mountains in the far northwest, and the Northern Rocky Mountain Trench and foothills. Most observations were made south of about 52░N. Although breeding was probable as far north as the Tatshenshini Basin, the most northerly confirmed breeding was in the Stikine River drainage. This distribution is similar to when The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, but more confirmed nesting sites were found during the Atlas surveys.

The probability of observing a Vaux's Swift is highest in the Coast and Mountains, Georgia Depression, and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces. Observations were made from sea level in the Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince to about 1,300 m in the Southern Interior Mountains Ecoprovince, but it is most common between 250 and 500 m elevation, possibly coinciding with favoured nesting areas. The highest PObs and abundance values were all in the hemlock-dominated biogeoclimatic zones, where the swifts are attracted by large, hollow Western Redcedars (Thuja plicata).

Vaux's Swifts occupy heavily-forested as well as open portions of the preferred biogeoclimatic zones, with larger, hollow trees for nesting and roosting being typical features in late seral-stage habitats. Woodpecker cavities in live or dead trees of 0.5-1.1 m basal diameter are typical (Bull and Collins 2007). Black Cottonwood (Populus trichocarpa), Western Redcedar, Ponderosa Pine (Pinus ponderosa), Douglas-fir (Psuedotsuga menziesii), Grand Fir (Abies grandis) and Bigleaf Maple (Acer macrophyllum) trees can commonly attain the necessary size and provide the requisite cavities. Roost trees may be several kilometres from nest trees. Of 13 nests found in British Columbia before the Atlas, 8 were in chimneys in urban areas (Campbell et al. 1990). Ponds, open areas, and stream corridors within forested zones provide foraging sites, but swifts also forage at varying heights above the forest canopy.

Conservation and Recommendations Vaux's Swift is not considered of conservation concern in British Columbia. The province's global responsibility for conservation is considered low and Breeding Bird Survey data, although scant, suggest no clear long-term trend (Environment Canada 2011). Retention of older stands and cavity-bearing veteran nest trees should be part of forest harvesting plans. Retention of suitable anthropogenic structures such as unused chimneys would be useful in some urban areas.

Rick Howie

Recommended citation: Howie, R. 2015. Vaux's Swift in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=VASW&lang=en [16 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Martinet de Vaux, Laure Wilson Neish
Photo © Laure Wilson Neish

Photo: Laure Wilson Neish
Indices de nidification - Martinet de Vaux
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Martinet de Vaux
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Martinet de Vaux
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Martinet de Vaux
Chaetura vauxi

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
3 - 1346 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
18 85 391 88
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -2.14 (-5.43 - 1.29)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 -2.2 (-5.55 - 1.23)Low

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
   0.120.28 0.17
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
    0.14 0.06
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.3  0.12  0.17

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
   0.13
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.180.070.3
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.14 0.140.04
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.07  0.06

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le martinet de Vaux (prononcé « vox ») à vol rapide et agile impressionne fréquemment les observateurs d'oiseaux lors de sa course folle au-dessus des bocages riverains ou lorsqu'il se lance au-dessus de la surface d'étangs afin de saisir ses proies d'insectes. La nidification et les perchages en groupe se produisent principalement dans de grands arbres vides, mais se servent parfois de cheminées comme le fait le martinet ramoneur dans l'Est du Canada. Le martinet de Vaux est un reproducteur migrateur dans les chaînes de montagnes du sud-ouest de l'Alaska à la Californie centrale et hiverne dans le sud du Mexique et en Amérique Centrale où il est aussi un résident permanent.

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Martinet de Vaux est répandu dans tout le sud de la Colombie-Britannique, son aire s'étendant du nord, le long de la chaîne Côtière, jusqu'à la chaîne St. Elias dans l'extrême nord-ouest, et le sillon et les contreforts des Rocheuses du nord. La plupart des observations ont été faites au sud du 52e parallèle nord, bien que sa reproduction soit probable aussi loin, au nord, que le bassin de la Tatshenshini. Le relevé de reproduction confirmée le plus au nord a été effectué dans le bassin de drainage de la rivière Stikine. Sa distribution est similaire à celle présentée dans l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia publié en 1990, mais plus de sites de nidification confirmée ont été trouvés durant la période des relevés de l'Atlas.

La probabilité d'observer le Martinet de Vaux est la plus grande dans les écoprovinces Côtes et montagnes, Dépression de Georgia et Montagnes intérieures du sud. Des observations ont été faites aussi bien au niveau de la mer, dans l'écoprovince Côtes et montagnes, qu'à environ 1300 md'altitude dans l'écoprovince Montagnes intérieures du sud, mais l'espèce est plus commune à des altitudes situées entre 250 et 500 m, ce qui coïncide probablement avec les régions de nidification privilégiées. Les valeurs de Pobs et d'abondance les plus élevées ont toutes été observées dans les zones biogéoclimatiques dominées par la pruche, où le martinet est attiré par de grands thuyas géants (Thuja plicata) creux.

Le Martinet de Vaux occupe des parties très boisées ou ouvertes des zones biogéoclimatiques qu'il privilégie, de grands arbres creux pour la nidification et comme perchoir étant des caractéristiques typiques des habitats au dernier stade de succession. Les cavités creusées par le pic dans des arbres vivants ou morts don't le diamètre basal est de 0,5 à 1,1 m sont typiques (Bull and Collins 2007). Le peuplier de l'Ouest (Populus trichocarpa), le thuya géant, le pin ponderosa (Pinus ponderosa), le douglas vert (Psuedotsuga menziesii), le sapin grandissime (Abies grandis) et l'érable à grandes feuilles (Acer macrophyllum) peuvent couramment atteindre la taille nécessaire et offrent les cavités qu'il recherche. Les arbres servant de perchoir peuvent se trouver à plusieurs kilomètres de l'arbre où il a fabriqué son nid. Sur les 13 nids relevés en Colombie-Britannique avant l'Atlas, huit avaient été construits dans des cheminées dans des régions urbaines (Campbell et coll. 1990). Les étangs, zones ouvertes et corridors de cours d'eau se trouvant dans des zones boisées offrent des sites d'alimentation; toutefois, les martinets se nourrissent également à différentes hauteurs au-dessus de la canopée forestière.

Conservation et recommandations Le martinet de Vaux n'est pas considéré comme une préoccupation de conservation en Colombie-Britannique. La responsabilité mondiale de la province de la conservation est considérée faible et les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs, quoique rares, ne sous-entendent aucune tendance à long terme claire (Environnement Canada 2011). La rétention de peuplements plus anciens et d'arbres de nidification vétérans portant déjà des cavités devrait faire part de plans de récoltes forestières. La rétention de structures anthropogéniques convenables comme les cheminées désaffectées serait aussi utile dans certaines régions urbaines.

Rick Howie

Citation recommandée: Howie, R. 2015. Martinet de Vaux dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=VASW&lang=fr [02 juin 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley