Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Yellow-bellied Sapsucker, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Breeding evidence - Yellow-bellied Sapsucker
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Yellow-bellied Sapsucker
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Yellow-bellied Sapsucker
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Yellow-bellied Sapsucker
Sphyrapicus varius
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
270 - 1215 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
N/A
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
174 42 203 218
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1971 - 2012 -0.432 (-4.16 - 3.38)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 0.975 (-1.6 - 1.85)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.290.32  0.17  
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.30.17 0.38  0.16
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.08      

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.31  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
  0.07 
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.04 0.12

Characteristics and Range The Yellow-bellied Sapsucker is one of four sapsuckers, species of woodpecker that regularly drill holes through bark to feed on tree sap. Sapsuckers maintain and defend extensive systems of sap wells, which other species such as hummingbirds feed from. Until 1983, three of the four sapsuckers, Red-breasted, Red-naped and Yellow-bellied, were considered the same species. They are in fact three closely related species, which prior to the Pleistocene (last Ice Age) were probably a single widespread species whose populations became separated as ice sheets advanced southwards. Those populations evolved into distinct species that have come back into contact with each other since the ice retreated. The Yellow-bellied is the most migratory and easterly distributed of the three, breeding across the Boreal Forest from Alaska to the Atlantic Coast, and wintering in the Southern Coastal Plain, the Caribbean, and Central America (Walters et al. 2002).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat It is widespread east of the Rocky Mountains in north-east British Columbia, and more sparsely distributed across northern British Columbia. The Atlas extended the breeding range significantly southwest since The Birds of British Columbia was published in 1990, and filled many distribution gaps. Breeding occurs as far southwest as the Nechako Plateau and the upper Skeena River drainage, and as far northwest as Atlin Lake. Increased survey coverage partly explains the change, but an actual southwestern expansion may have occurred over the past two decades, supported by a distinct flow of Yellow-bellied Sapsucker genes within hybrid sapsuckers as far west as Francois Lake (Seneviratne et al. 2012)

The extensive areas of high Probability of Observation for the Yellow-bellied Sapsucker are in the Peace, Fort Nelson and Liard river lowlands in the Boreal and Taiga Plains ecoprovinces. Point counts show highest abundance in the White and Black Spruce biogeoclimatic zone that dominates this region, between 250 and 750 m, confirming that this is the centre of the provincial population. Point counts also showed that it is very common in the Sub-boreal Spruce biogeoclimatic zone, where the hybrid zone with Red-breasted Sapsucker is centred.

In British Columbia, the Yellow-bellied Sapsucker prefers young forests at early stages of succession, especially Trembling Aspen (Populus tremuloides), Balsam Poplar (Populus balsamifera), White Spruce (Picea glauca) and birch (Betula) species (Campbell et al. 1990). It uses deciduous trees for excavating cavities, and performs an important primary excavator role in bird communities in the Boreal Taiga Plains.

Conservation and Recommendations There are no management concerns for the species, which is stable across its breeding range (Environment Canada 2011). Its preference for early seral stage habitats means that it is well-adapted to regenerating cut-over forests, and forest harvest regimes will likely supply adequate breeding habitat over the long term. Projected drying climate change scenarios (Hamann and Wang 2006) could facilitate its movement into interior forests. These changes in landscape may enable the more aggressive Yellow-bellied Sapsucker to outcompete the Red-breasted Sapsucker where they overlap (Seneviratne et al. 2012). The hybrid zones of the trio of sapsuckers provide useful markers in predicting forest birds' responses to changes in climate and forest cover (Seneviratne et al. 2016).

Peter J. A. Davidson and Sampath Seneviratne

Recommended citation: Davidson, P.J.A. And Seneviratne, S. 2015. Yellow-bellied Sapsucker in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=YBSA&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Pic maculé, Christian Artuso
Photo © Christian Artuso

Photo: Christian Artuso
Indices de nidification - Pic maculé
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Pic maculé
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Pic maculé
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Pic maculé
Sphyrapicus varius

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
270 - 1215 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
N/A
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
174 42 203 218
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1971 - 2012 -0.432 (-4.16 - 3.38)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 0.975 (-1.6 - 1.85)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.290.32  0.17  
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.30.17 0.38  0.16
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.08      

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
 0.31  
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
  0.07 
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
    
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
 0.04 0.12

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Le pic maculé est l'une des quatre espèces de pics buveurs de sève, lesquelles percent un trou dans l'écorce des arbres pour se nourrir de leur sève. Les pics buveurs de sève trouvent et défendent un réseau important de filons de sève dont se nourrissent d'autres espèces comme les oiseaux-mouches. Jusqu'en 1983, trois espèces de pics buveurs de sève, soit le pic à poitrine rouge, le pic à nuque rouge et le pic maculé étaient regroupées sous la même espèce. En fait, il s'agit de trois espèces étroitement liées, qui constituaient probablement une seule espèce abondante au cours de l'ère pléistocène (la dernière période glaciaire) jusqu'à ce que l'avance des glaciers continentaux sépare leurs populations. Celles-ci ont évolué dans des espèces distinctes et occupent maintenant le même territoire depuis le recul des glaces. De ces trois espèces, le pic maculé est la plus portée à migrer. Les populations sont réparties dans l'est et se reproduisent dans la forêt boréale, de l'Alaska jusqu'à la côte est. Leur aire d'hivernage couvre la plaine côtière du sud, les Caraïbes et l'Amérique centrale (Walters et coll. 2002).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Le Pic maculé est répandu à l'est des Rocheuses, dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique, et sa distribution est plus éparse dans le nord de la Colombie-Britannique. L'Atlas a élargi de façon importante son aire de reproduction dans le sud-ouest par rapport à celle présentée dans l'ouvrage The Birds of British Columbia publié en 1990, et a comblé de nombreuses lacunes relatives à sa distribution. Sa reproduction est observée aussi loin, dans le sud-ouest, que le plateau de la Nechako et le bassin de drainage du cours supérieur de la Skeena, et aussi loin, au nord-ouest, que le lac Atlin. La couverture accrue des relevés explique en partie ce changement; toutefois, une expansion réelle vers le sud-ouest pourrait avoir eu lieu au cours des deux dernières décennies, renforcée par un flux distinct de gènes du Pic maculé dans les pics hybrides, aussi loin, à l'ouest, que le lac François (Seneviratne et coll. 2012).

On trouve de vastes aires affichant des valeurs élevées de probabilité d'observation pour le Pic maculé dans les basses terres des rivières de la Paix, Fort Nelson et Liard dans les écoprovinces Plaines boréales et Plaines de la Taïga. Les dénombrements par point montrent la plus forte abondance dans la zone biogéoclimatique boréale des épinettes blanche et noire qui domine cette région, à des altitudes situées entre 250 et 750 m, ce qui confirme qu'il s'agit bien du centre de la population provinciale. Les dénombrements par point ont également montré que l'espèce était très commune dans la zone biogéoclimatique subboréale à épinette, où se concentre la zone hybride avec le Pic à poitrine rouge.

En Colombie-Britannique, le Pic maculé prefère les jeunes forêts aux premiers stades de la succession, composées particulièrement de peupliers faux-trembles (Populus tremuloides), de peupliers baumiers (Populus balsamifera), d'épinettes blanches (Picea glauca) et de bouleaux (Betula) (Campbell et coll. 1990). Le pic utilise des feuillus pour creuser des cavités et exécute un rôle d'excavateur primaire important au sein des communautés d'oiseaux dans les plaines boréales de la Taïga.

Conservation et recommandations Il n'y aucune inquiétude concernant cette espèce, puisqu'elle est stable partout dans son aire de reproduction (Environnement Canada 2011). Sa preférence pour un habitat en stade de succession précoce signifie qu'elle est bien adaptée aux forêts coupées en régénération, et la récolte forestière fournira un habitat de reproduction convenable à long terme. Les scénarios prévus de changement climatique d'assèchement (Hamann et Wang 2006) pourraient faciliter son déplacement vers les forêts intérieures. Ces changements en matière d'habitat pourraient permettre au pic maculé agressif de dominer le pic à poitrine rouge dans les endroits où se trouvent les deux populations (Seneviratne et coll. 2012). Les zones hybrides où se trouvent les trois populations de pics buveurs de sève procurent d'excellents indicateurs pour prédire la réaction des oiseaux de la forêt aux changements de climat et de la couverture forestière (Seneviratne et coll. 2016).

Peter J. A. Davidson and Sampath Seneviratne

Citation recommandée: Davidson, P.J.A. And Seneviratne, S. 2015. Pic maculé dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=YBSA&lang=fr [20 sept. 2019]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley