Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Yellow Warbler, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Breeding evidence - Yellow Warbler
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Yellow Warbler
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Yellow Warbler
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Yellow Warbler
Setophaga petechia
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 1725 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
338 432 1314 1093
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.21 (-2.48 - 0.071)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.538 (-1.1 - -0.056)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.210.58 0.220.18 0.22
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.210.06 0.710.11 0.19
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.180.13 0.22  0.3

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.140.510.160.09
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
0.360.240.140.23
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.23 0.160.38
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.110.190.090.18

Characteristics and Range Petite and lovely, the Yellow Warbler has some of the brightest colours in the warbler world. In breeding plumage, its bright yellow plumage and subtle reddish breast-streaks shine out from the green leafy thicket where it nests. It has bright, black eyes and a sweet song, sounding a little like "sweet, sweet, sweet looka-thew". It nests in alder and willow thickets, parks, and gardens throughout North America. The Yellow Warbler is a neo-tropical migrant that mostly winters in the lush rain forests of Mexico, Central and South America (Lowther et al. 1999).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat Atlas records indicate that Yellow Warblers occur throughout practically all areas of British Columbia, with the highest concentrations in the southern parts of the province and along the Peace River. Despite more coverage of some areas, the Atlas surveys didn't show any new or unexpected expansion since The Birds of British Columbia was published. It is reasonable to assume that this warbler also nests at lower altitudes in British Columbia's northern interior as they occur in similar areas in southeast Alaska (Woodford 2006). Yellow Warblers migrate through Haida Gwaii but do not nest there, although they nest on the adjacent mainland.

The Probability of Observation model shows that the Yellow Warbler is most likely to be found in the Peace River lowlands, and on the floors and lower slopes of the Skeena, Nass, Columbia and Okanagan valleys. Atlas point counts refine this picture further, showing the centre of highest abundance (almost three times higher than in any other ecoprovince) is in the Boreal Plains Ecoprovince around the Peace River. The second highest abundance is in the valley systems of the Coast and Mountains Ecoprovince. Province-wide, Yellow Warblers are 2-3 times more common between 500 and 1,000 m than above or below that altitude band.

The Yellow Warbler can be found at lower elevations in British Columbia Wherever ravines, riparian thickets, willow thickets and well-watered garden habitats are found. It occurs in cut-over areas which are regenerating to deciduous thicket and deciduous scrub woodlands. These habitats are widely distributed in British Columbia, and so the Yellow Warbler is common in a range of different biogeoclimatic zones. In areas where older growth coniferous forests are logged off and replaced by deciduous brush, Yellow Warbler numbers may increase. Ehrlich et al. (1988) note that "populations in the west increase where reduction of grazing, and cessation of herbiciding willows, has led to regrowth of riparian vegetation."

Conservation and Recommendations The Yellow Warbler thrives in deciduous forests and riparian areas. It may be one reason why it appears to be faring better in British Columbia's second-growth deciduous forest than across Canada as a whole, where Breeding Bird Survey results indicate that it is declining. As such, Yellow Warblers are an indicator species, one guide to the changing landscape of British Columbia, and may be one of the first to expand into early successional habitats. It is worth following this trend over time as coniferous forests begin to mature.

Marguerita (Margo) E. Hearne

Recommended citation: Hearne, M.E. 2015. Yellow Warbler in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=YEWA&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Paruline jaune, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Indices de nidification - Paruline jaune
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Paruline jaune
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Paruline jaune
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Paruline jaune
Setophaga petechia

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 1725 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
338 432 1314 1093
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 -1.21 (-2.48 - 0.071)Low
Canada1970 - 2012 -0.538 (-1.1 - -0.056)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.210.58 0.220.18 0.22
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.210.06 0.710.11 0.19
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.180.13 0.22  0.3

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.140.510.160.09
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
0.360.240.140.23
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.23 0.160.38
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.110.190.090.18

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition Menue et mignonne, la Paruline jaune porte quelques-unes des couleurs les plus vives dans le monde des parulines. Son plumage nuptial est jaune clair avec de subtiles rayures rougeâtres sur la poitrine et brille au fond des verts halliers feuillus dans lesquels elle niche. Ses yeux sont noirs et brillants et son chant mélodieux ressemble un peu à « suite, suite, suite louca-siou ». Elle niche dans des halliers d'aulnes et de saules, dans des parcs et des jardins de toute l'Amérique du Nord. La Paruline jaune est une migratrice néotropicale qui hiverne principalement dans les luxuriantes forêts pluviales du Mexique, de l'Amérique centrale et du Sud (Lowther et coll. 1999).

Répartition, abondance et habitat Les relevés de l'Atlas indiquent que la Paruline jaune est présente dans presque toutes les régions de la Colombie-Britannique, les plus fortes concentrations se trouvant dans la partie sud de la province et le long de la rivière de la Paix. Malgré une couverture plus importante de certaines régions, les relevés de l'Atlas n'ont pas indiqué une expansion nouvelle ou inattendue depuis la publication de The Birds of British Columbia. Il est raisonnable de présumer que cette paruline niche également à plus faible altitude dans le nord de l'intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique, car on la trouve dans des régions semblables dans le sud-est de l'Alaska (Woodford 2006). La Paruline jaune traverse Haida Gwaii lors de sa migration, mais n'y niche pas, bien qu'elle le fasse sur la partie continentale adjacente.

Le modèle des probabilités d'observation montrait qu'il était le plus probable de trouver la Paruline jaune dans les basses terres de la rivière de la Paix et sur le fond et les pentes inférieures des vallées des rivières Skeena, Nass, Columbia et Okanagan. Les dénombrements par point de l'Atlas ont peaufiné ce tableau davantage, montrant que le centre de la plus forte abondance (presque trois fois plus élevée que dans toute autre écoprovince) se situait dans l'écoprovince Plaines boréales autour de la rivière de la Paix. La deuxième abondance par ordre d'importance a été constatée dans les systèmes de vallées de l'écoprovince Côtes et montagnes. À l'échelle de la province, la Paruline jaune était de deux à trois fois plus commune entre 500 et 1 000 mètres qu'au-dessus ou en dessous de cette tranche d'altitude.

La Paruline jaune peut se trouver à de plus basses altitudes en Colombie-Britannique, partout où l'on trouve des habitats de ravins, de halliers riverains, de taillis de saules et de jardins bien arrosés. On la trouve dans des zones déboisées qui sont en train de se régénérer en halliers de feuillus et en terres boisées broussailleuses de feuillus. Ces habitats sont largement répartis en Colombie-Britannique, et par conséquent la Paruline jaune est commune dans une aire de répartition couvrant différentes zones biogéoclimatiques. Dans les régions où des forêts de conifères matures sont abattues et remplacées par de la broussaille de feuillus, le nombre de Parulines jaunes peut augmenter. Ehrlich et coll. (1988) relèvent que les populations de l'ouest augmentent lorsque la réduction du pâturage et l'interruption de l'épandage d'herbicides sur les saules ont débouché sur une nouvelle croissance de végétation riveraine.

Conservation et recommandations La Paruline jaune prospère dans les forêts d'arbres à feuilles caduques et les régions riveraines. C'est peut-être une des raisons pour lesquelles son sort semble être meilleur dans les forêts de feuillus de seconde venue que dans l'ensemble du Canada, pour lequel les résultats du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs indiquent que ses nombres baissent. Par conséquent, la Paruline jaune est une espèce indicatrice, un guide du paysage en évolution de la Colombie-Britannique et peut être l'une des premières à s'étendre dans des habitats au stade initial de la succession. Il vaut la peine de suivre ces tendances au fil du temps à mesure que les forêts de conifères commencent à arriver à maturité.

Marguerita (Margo) E. Hearne

Citation recommandée: Hearne, M.E. 2015. Paruline jaune dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=YEWA&lang=fr [14 nov. 2019]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley