Select map overlays Admin Regions Bird Conservation Regions Blocks Coordinates Ecoprovinces Cities and Roads
[Close]
Yellow-rumped Warbler, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Breeding evidence - Yellow-rumped Warbler
Breeding evidence
Probability of observation - Yellow-rumped Warbler
Probability of observation
Elevation plot - Yellow-rumped Warbler
Elevation plot

Click for a larger version or to add map overlays

Yellow-rumped Warbler
Setophaga coronata
Landscape associations:

Click on plot to view table of mean abundance
Elevation range:
0 - 2383 m
Conserv. status:
Not at risk
Global importance
of B.C. population:
6
Number of squares
ConfirmedProbablePossiblePoint counts
722 743 1485 1813
Long-term BBS trends
RegionYearsTrend (conf. interv.) Reliab.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 1.04 (-0.396 - 3.17)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 1.06 (-0.859 - 2.25)Medium

Mean abundance by region

Bird Conservation Regions [plot]
NW Interior ForestBoreal Taiga PlainsGreat BasinNorthern RockiesN. Pacific Rainforest
0.60.52 0.330.39 0.21
Ecoprovinces [plot]
N. Boreal Mountains Taiga Plains Boreal Plains Georgia Depression Sub-Boreal Interior
0.60.34 0.630.16 0.47
S. Interior Mountains Central Interior Southern Interior S. Alaska Mountains Coast & Mountains
0.320.44 0.33  0.26

Mean abundance by habitat [plot]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.110.540.120.17
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.20.310.32
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.360.130.390.22
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.230.590.570.48

Characteristics and Range The Yellow-rumped Warbler is one of our most common and best-known warblers; with its yellow 'shoulder' mark and bright yellow rump, it is sometimes affectionately called 'butter butt'. It breeds over the whole of northern and western North America. The Yellow-rumped Warbler was formerly considered to be two species, the Myrtle Warbler in the north and east and the Audubon's Warbler in the west. The Myrtle Warbler group (S. c. coronata and S. c. hooveri) breeds in boreal forests across the continent and winters in eastern North America, Central America, and the Caribbean; the Audubon's Warbler (S. c. auduboni) breeds from the Rocky Mountains to the Pacific Coast and winters in the southwestern United States, Mexico, and Central America (Brelsford et al. 2011). In British Columbia, a narrow hybrid zone between these subspecies exists across the Northern Boreal Mountains, Sub-Boreal Interior and Southern Interior Mountains ecoprovinces (Brelsford and Irwin 2009, Campbell et al. 2001). Recent studies in this hybrid zone suggest that Myrtle and Audubon's warblers are stable and genetically distinct forms that may be full species (Brelsford and Irwin 2009). There are also resident populations of the Audubon's Warbler in Mexico and Guatemala (Hunt and Flaspohler 1998).

Distribution, Abundance, and Habitat The Yellow-rumped Warbler is the most widespread breeding warbler in British Columbia, absent only from Haida Gwaii. During the Atlas period, it was the third most widespread bird in the province after American Robin and Swainson's Thrush, as measured by 10-km squares with records. The Atlas greatly increased our understanding of the breeding season distribution, particularly in the northern half of the province and on the coast; this was likely due to increased effort. Some Atlas participants recorded observations to subspecies; after the main pulse of migration was over in mid-June, the Myrtle Warbler was generally distributed east of the Continental Divide and across the Northern Boreal Mountains, and the Audubon's Warbler occurred throughout the rest of the province.

The Probability of Observation is generally high or very high in most ecoprovinces. The pattern of abundance based on point count data showed a general gradient of increasing abundance with increasing latitude, with highest abundances in the Boreal Plains and Northern Boreal Mountains ecoprovinces. This contrasts with Campbell et al. 2001) who note the species reaches highest numbers in the Southern Interior Mountains; the difference may be the result of expanded Atlas coverage, as is the case for some other species. Most breeding is between 1,000 and 2,000 m, with abundance peaking in the 1,500-1,750 m elevation band.

Although Yellow-rumped Warbler is one of the most ecologically generalist of warblers, it prefers mature coniferous and mixed coniferous-deciduous forests. Atlas point count data revealed that spruce (Picea)-dominated biogeoclimatic zones supported the highest abundances.

Conservation and Recommendations There are few conservation concerns for this abundant species. Populations in Canada, including in British Columbia, have shown an overall moderate increase since the early 1970s, and have stabilised at that level during the last decade (Environment Canada 2011, 2014). It does not appear to be adversely affected by forestry practices, as long as mature trees are present for nest site selection.

Art Martell

Recommended citation: Martell, A. 2015. Yellow-rumped Warbler in Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, and C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). The Atlas of the Breeding Birds of British Columbia, 2008-2012. Bird Studies Canada. Delta, B.C. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=YRWA&lang=en [11 Dec 2018]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley

Choisissez un transparent Régions admin. Région de conserv. des oiseaux Blocs Coordonnées Écoprovinces Villes et routes
[Fermer]
Paruline à croupion jaune, Ian Routley
Photo © Ian Routley

Photo: Ian Routley
Indices de nidification - Paruline à croupion jaune
Indices de nidification
Probability of observation - Paruline à croupion jaune
Probabilité d'observation
Élévation - Paruline à croupion jaune
Élévation

Cliquez pour obtenir une version agrandie ou pour ajouter des transparents

Paruline à croupion jaune
Setophaga coronata

Cliquez sur le graphique pour consulter un tableau des valeurs
Élévation:
0 - 2383 m
Statut de conserv.:
Non menacée
Importance globale
de la population de C.-B.:
6
Nombre de parcelles
ConfirméProbablePossiblePoints d'écoute
722 743 1485 1813
Tendances BBS à long terme
RégionAnnéesTendance (interv. de conf.) Fiabil.
Brit. Col.1970 - 2012 1.04 (-0.396 - 3.17)Low
Canada1973 - 2012 1.06 (-0.859 - 2.25)Medium

Abondance moyenne par région

Régions de conservation des oiseaux [graphique]
Forêt intérieure du N.-O.Taïga des plaines boréalesGrand bassinRocheuses du NordForêt pluviale du N. du Pacifique
0.60.52 0.330.39 0.21
Écoprovince [graphique]
Montagnes boréales du nord Plaines de la taïga Plaines boréales Dépression de Georgie Intérieur subboréal
0.60.34 0.630.16 0.47
Montagnes intérieures du sud Intérieur centre Intérieur sud Montagnes du sud de l'Alaska Côte et montagnes
0.320.44 0.33  0.26

Abondance moyenne par habitat [graphique]

Boreal Altai Fescue AlpineBoreal White and Black SpruceBunchgrassCoastal Douglas-fir
0.110.540.120.17
Coastal Mountain-heather AlpineCoastal Western HemlockEngelmann Spruce -- Subalpine FirInterior Cedar -- Hemlock
 0.20.310.32
Interior Douglas-firInterior Mountain-heather AlpineMontane SpruceMountain Hemlock
0.360.130.390.22
Ponderosa PineSpruce -- Willow -- BirchSub-Boreal Pine -- SpruceSub-Boreal Spruce
0.230.590.570.48

Caractéristiques et aire de répartition La paruline à croupion jaune est l'une des parulines les plus communes et les mieux connues. Ses « épaulettes » jaunes et son croupion jaune brillant font en sorte qu'elle est parfois surnommée affectueusement « queue de beurre ». Elle se reproduit dans toute la région du nord et toute la région de l'ouest de l'Amérique du Nord. La paruline à croupion jaune était antérieurement classifiée en deux espèces, selon sa répartition géographique. Le premier groupe, situé au nord, est constitué de S. c. coronata et S. c. hooveri et se reproduit dans les forêts boréales partout sur le continent et hiverne en Amérique du Nord orientale, en Amérique centrale et dans les Caraïbes. Le second groupe, situé dans l'ouest, est constitué de S. c. auduboni, et se reproduit dans le territoire s'étendant des montagnes Rocheuses jusqu'à la côte pacifique et hiverne dans le sud-ouest des États-Unis, au Mexique en Amérique centrale (Brelsford et coll. 2011). En Colombie-Britannique, une zone hybride étroite entre ces sous-espèces existe entre les montagnes boréales du nord, l'intérieur sous-boréal et les écoprovinces des montagnes intérieures du sud (Brelsford et Irwin 2009, Campbell et coll. 2001). Des études récentes de cette zone hybride ont montré que les deux types de parulines à croupion jaune sont stables et représentent des êtres génétiquement distincts qui pourraient être classifiés en tant qu'espèces distinctes (Brelsford et Irwin 2009). Il y a également des parulines à croupion jaune du deuxième groupe au Mexique et au Guatemala (Hunt et Flaspohler 1998).

Répartition, abondance et habitat La Paruline à croupion jaune est l'espèce de paruline nicheuse la plus répandue en Colombie-Britannique, absente uniquement dans l'archipel Haida Gwaii. Durant la période de l'Atlas, c'était l'oiseau le plus répandu dans la province après le Merle d'Amérique et la Grive à dos olive, comme l'ont mesuré les relevés par carré de 10 km. L'Atlas a permis d'enrichir considérablement notre connaissance de sa distribution de la saison de reproduction, en particulier dans la moitié nord de la province et sur la côte; cela étant probablement attribuable à l'accroissement des efforts. Certains participants du projet de l'Atlas ont enregistré des observations de sous-espèces; après que la principale impulsion de la migration ait été terminée vers la mi-juin, la sous-espèce de l'est était généralement distribuée à l'est de la division continentale et dans les Montagnes boréales du nord, et la sous-espèce de l'ouest était présente dans tout le reste de la province.

La probabilité d'observation est généralement élevée, voire très élevée, dans la plupart des écoprovinces. Le schéma de l'abondance, déterminé en fonction des données des dénombrements par point, montrait un gradient général d'abondance croissante avec l'accroissement de la latitude, et des abondances plus fortes dans les écoprovinces Plaines boréales et Montagnes boréales du nord. Cela contraste avec Campbell et al. 2001) qui notent l'espèce atteint plus grand nombre dans les montagnes intérieures du sud; la différence peut être le résultat de la couverture Atlas élargie, comme cela est le cas pour d'autres espèces. La majeure partie de la reproduction a lieu à des altitudes situées entre 1 000 et 2000 m, avec un pic d'abondance dans la plage d'altitudes de 1 500 à 1 750 m.

Bien que la Paruline à croupion jaune soit l'une des parulines les plus généralistes d'un point de vue écologique, elle prefère les forêts matures de conifères et de conifères et de feuillus mixtes. Les données des dénombrements par point de l'Atlas ont révélé que les zones biogéoclimatiques dominées par l'épicéa (Picea) affichaient les plus fortes abondances.

Conservation et recommandations Il y a très peu d'inquiétudes pour cette espèce abondante. Les populations au Canada, y compris en Colombie-Britannique, ont montré une croissance hors tout modérée depuis le début des années 1970. Depuis, leur niveau s'est stabilisé au cours de la dernière décennie (Environnement Canada 2011, 2014). Cette espèce ne semble pas être incommodée par l'exploitation forestière, tant que des arbres à maturité pouvant accueillir des nids soient présents.

Art Martell

Citation recommandée: Martell, A. 2015. Paruline à croupion jaune dans Davidson, P.J.A., R.J. Cannings, A.R. Couturier, D. Lepage, et C.M. Di Corrado (eds.). Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de Colombie-Britannique, 2008-2012. Études d'Oiseaux Canada. Delta, C.-B. http://www.birdatlas.bc.ca/accounts/speciesaccount.jsp?sp=YRWA&lang=fr [08 avr. 2020]

Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
British Columbia Breeding Bird Atlas, Bird Studies Canada, 5421 Robertson Road Delta, BC V4K 3N2 Canada
Phone: 1-877-592-8527 E-mail: bcbirdatlas@bsc-eoc.org
Banner photo: Glenn Bartley